Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS [Resolved]

Just starting out? Need help? Post your questions and find answers here.
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS [Resolved]

Post by Kwai chang caine »

Hello at all

I have found a new problem never see before :oops:

When i try to copy with WINDOWS a folder named ".bin\" from two of my hard drives C:\ to D:\, that works perfectly

Code: Select all

Debug CopyDirectory("C:\.bin\", "D:\.bin\", "", #PB_FileSystem_Recursive|#PB_FileSystem_Force)
Debug wrote:1
But when i try to do the same thing on my NAS ShareCenter D-Link "C:\.bin\" to "\\MyNas\Volume_1\.bin\"
WINDOWS say to me the file is not found :shock:

Code: Select all

Debug CopyDirectory("X:\A\Q\B\.bin\", "\\MyNas\Volume_1\.bin\", "", #PB_FileSystem_Recursive|#PB_FileSystem_Force)
Debug wrote:0
Someone know how i can force my NAS or WINDOWS to can write this DOT folder ?

Have a good day
Last edited by Kwai chang caine on Wed Jul 12, 2023 5:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
Marc56us
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Copy folder with first character DOT on NAS

Post by Marc56us »

Hi again Kcc,

Does this happen with all files and folders starting with a dot?

According to the Internet documentation, the partitions on this NAS are EXT3, i.e. Linux (so with Samba to make the system accessible to Windows.)

It's likely then that your problem is linked to 'veto files' (protection of data and directories according to criteria (including, for example, 'hidden' files (beginning with a dot sour unix)).
This is set in the configuration file (smb.conf)
(I haven't tested it yet, but I'll try later this week if I have time)

smb.conf
:wink:
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Copy folder with first character DOT on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

Yes..it's for all the directory ".bin\" but that works with ".ban", "bon", ".boon" for exampler

Image
Perhaps linux prefer DANY :mrgreen:

The problem is i try to make a bakup of all my external HD on NAS and this idiot lock all the ".bin" of "tizen-studio" for exampler
I'm not sure this software works too less better without it

Image

I not know where this "smb.conf" is :shock:
Thanks a lot for trying later to help me my friend 8)
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

Nobody have problem to create a ".bin" or ".P2p" folder (or files) on his NAS, like me with my DNS340L of D-Link ?
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
infratec
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 6817
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:45 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by infratec »

Have you tried \\\\ ?

Because \\ maybe is an 'escaped' \
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

Thanks a lot MASTER for trying to help me 8)

After numerous search, i have found the problem
It's a ridiculous problem of locking name on the NAS :shock:

Like Marc56 say to me, i have search in SAMBA direction, and in the "Smb.conf" there are a ridiculous line named VETO :evil:
And in this line there are several name like "p2p", "bin", and others

I have modify the conf file, and delete this two names, but i have not found how restart the samba server and not know if it's possible
because I have test several commands without success :oops:

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/samba restart
sudo service smbd restart
sudo service smbd reload
sudo /etc/init.d/smbd restart
The worst in all that, it's i modify the file with success, but when i reboot the NAS the file is reseting and become like before :twisted:
I have also contacted DLINK hotline, and since 2 weeks he turn around, without give to me a solution
I'm affraid there are'nt solution finally and never i can make backup on my NAS with WINDOWS and SAMBA :|
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by mk-soft »

Is it possible that your NAS is already old and only supports SMB v1?

If so, you must install SMB v1 under Windows (which is insecure).

If translated from German:
- Control Panel
- Programs and Features
- Enable/Disable Windows Features
-> Support for SMB 1.0/CIFS
[x] SMB 1.0/CIFS Client
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

Hello MkSoft :D
Is it possible that your NAS is already old and only supports SMB v1?
Yes it's a DNS340L :oops:
If so, you must install SMB v1 under Windows.
Waouuuhhh !!!
I don't know it's possible to instal SAMBA on window :shock:
which is insecure.
Never mind....numerous things is really insecure on my machine, because i understand only 50% of the actual security everywhere, then i desactivate all i not understand, it's for the only one reason i have found for that works :oops:

One thousand of thanks MASTER perhaps you save my life, because there are several weeks i make my backup of 4TO on four harddrive by network, and it's after have all of that i see i can't use my NAS for make backup of all the windows folders :oops:
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by mk-soft »

You got that wrong. Linux Samba is the support of windows network protocol SMB 1.0 and is the old protocol of windows and has been replaced and is no longer automatically installed with Windows 7 or higher. However, you can install the SMB 1.0/CIFS client under windows-features.

Old NAS only support SMB 1.0 (like my NAS at home).

Even with Linux, I had to set the support for SMB 1.0 under samba.conf in order to access my NAS.
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

Yes it's really too much hard for understand for me :oops:
I have do like you say on my machine, and see the SMB protocol are already installed
After i have searched how use it, and just find how sharing a windows folder with SMB, but for the moment not understand how call the server on my nas with the SMB protocol :oops:
But thanks when even for your help 8)
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
Marc56us
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Marc56us »

I have modify the conf file, and delete this two names, but i have not found how restart the samba server and not know if it's possible
You don't need to restart Samba, the daemons re-read the configuration (smb.conf) file each min (ou 2)

If you do not want to wait, you can restart the 2 daemons manualy
As root (or with sudo)

Code: Select all

# kill -9 smbd
# kill -9 nmbd
(smbd: samba, nmbd: netbios)

smb 1.0 for Windows is smb client: nothing to install, just activate it if needed

Reverse: You do not need to install anything on windows if you want to acces it from linux, just share folders as usual Windows and mount it from linux (or use $ smbclient)

If I have time, I'll restart my old DS207 to test it out.
For now, I've replaced this NAS with a mini PC (Windows 11 Pro) with SSDs. (Much quieter and with Gigabit network interfaces).
:wink:
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5335
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by mk-soft »

If the NAS only supports SMB 1.0 and you want to access Windows from the NAS, the SMB 1.0 server must also be running on the Windows computer.
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

@Marc56US
Hello my friend saver :D
I have try your command and this is the result :|
NAS Dlink wrote:/ # kill -9 smbd
sh: invalid number 'smbd'
/ # kill -9 nmbd
sh: invalid number 'nmbd'
Marc56US wrote:smb 1.0 for Windows is smb client: nothing to install, just activate it if needed
Ok, but how can i do for calling to my samba NAS from the console or PUTTY ?

@Mk-Soft
If the NAS only supports SMB 1.0 and you want to access Windows from the NAS, the SMB 1.0 server must also be running on the Windows computer.
In fact i don't know if i want calling to windows from the NAS or the reverse :oops:
I want can modify the "smb.conf" in the NAS for delete the ".bin" and "p2p" extension denied for can create this two folders in my NAS with the explorer windows :|
smb.conf wrote:veto files = /.AppleDouble/.AppleDB/.bin/.AppleDesktop/Network Trash Folder/.!@#
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
User avatar
Kwai chang caine
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5342
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: Lyon - France

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Kwai chang caine »

The forum disaster KCC wrote:Ok, but how can i do for calling to my samba NAS from the console or PUTTY ?
I have found how connect my NAS with the console 8)

Code: Select all

net use Z: \\DLINK-1B628D\Volume_1
That create a permanent drive letter Z: or

Code: Select all

pushd \\DLINK-1B628D\Volume_1
That create a temporary drive letter Z:

But the problem now ...is i just can acces to the DATA of the NAS not the LINUX files "/etc/samba/samba.conf" :|
Last edited by Kwai chang caine on Wed Jul 12, 2023 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageThe happiness is a road...
Not a destination
Marc56us
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Problem for copy or create folder ".bin" or "p2p" on NAS

Post by Marc56us »

Sorry KCC,
not kill, but killall (yes, this is a unix standard command). Kill kill process by PID

$ man killall
KILLALL(1) User Commands KILLALL(1)

killall - kill processes by name

I do not have restart my Syno today, but in my remind we can acces to consol via the synology GUI

To access via PuTTY (or any SSH client), you need to activate SSH server on syno (use DSM, Syno GUI)
Post Reply