Executable restarts after END statement

Just starting out? Need help? Post your questions and find answers here.
jessedavis
New User
New User

Executable restarts after END statement

Post by jessedavis »

I'm new to all this. I wrote a short program:

Code: Select all

If OpenConsole()
    Print("<> ")
    ikey$ = Input()
    End  
  EndIf
Works as expected F/5. Then I generate an executable (.exe) . The executable does not stop on the END statement. It restarts the program, opening another console window. Looking at the docs for what END does it tells me that it "Ends the program correctly".

I don't know what to do and I need the generated .exe files to work correctly.

Thanks in advance for your help.

// Code-Tags added (Kiffi)
infratec
Always Here
Always Here

Re: Executable restarts after END statement

Post by infratec »

Works here without problems.

PB 6.01b3 x86 ASM on Windows 10 x64.

Maybe you shold tell us your environment.
jessedavis
New User
New User

Post by jessedavis »

Sorry, I always forget; Windows 10 PureBasic 6.0.0.0 LTS (Windows x64) 6/28/2022 5.16 MB Tried on 2 different machines.
thanks,
jd
Oso
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by Oso »

A bit of a longshot, but I wonder if it's being caused by a sticking Enter key, in that you're hitting Enter to terminate the running code, then presumably it is returning you to the Windows file explorer from where you ran it. If the key is misbehaving, it might just run that executable again. By contrast, when you were running it through the IDE (by pressing F5), you wouldn't have found the same symptom, since it returned you back to your code. Just an idea, on the offchance it might help you. If not, it is undoubtedly an environment problem with the operating system, or with the machine. PureBasic doesn't do this.
jessedavis
New User
New User

Post by jessedavis »