ResizeGadgets: Auto-resize or auto-move your gadgets.

Share your advanced PureBasic knowledge/code with the community.
Karbon
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 2010
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 1:42 am
Location: Ashland, KY
Contact:

Post by Karbon »

OK then - someone remind me where the hell I put my car keys?!? Probably right next to my cell (that is also missing!!)..
-Mitchell
Check out kBilling for all your billing software needs!
http://www.k-billing.com
Code Signing / Authenticode Certificates (Get rid of those Unknown Publisher warnings!)
http://codesigning.ksoftware.net
LarsG
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 713
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 1:06 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by LarsG »

I bet you put them a place you were 100% sure you wouldn't forget where they were... I'm extremely good at doing the same thing.. :P

AMD Athlon XP2400, 512 MB RAM, Hercules 3D Prophet 9600 256MB RAM, WinXP
PIII 800MHz, 320 MB RAM, Nvidia Riva Tnt 2 Mach 64 (32MB), WinXP + Linux
17" iMac, 1.8 GHz G5, 512 MB DDR-RAM, 80 GB HD, 64 MB Geforce FX 5200, SuperDrive, OSX
MrMat
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 6:27 am
Location: England

Re: Auto-resize or auto-move your gadgets.

Post by MrMat »

Berikco wrote:
USCode wrote: :idea: Ideally, it'd be nice if the Visual Designer gave each gadget 4 checkbox flags: lock left, lock top, lock right and lock bottom. Then it could easily autogenerate the necessary code to call these routines to do the Auto-resizing for us. ;-) ;-)
Very nice work USCode :)

With your permission, i'l include this in Visual Designer.
Is this available in 1361 or is it something to look forward to in the future? :D
User avatar
USCode
Addict
Addict
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle, USA

Post by USCode »

Is this available in 1361 or is it something to look forward to in the future?
Unfortunately it looks like it might be sometime before we see this functionality. :( See this thread:
viewtopic.php?t=11314&highlight=
MrMat
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 6:27 am
Location: England

Post by MrMat »

I'd missed that sad news :( Thanks for your code USCode, at least it's easy to add this functionality by hand! :D
User avatar
USCode
Addict
Addict
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle, USA

Post by USCode »

Thanks for your code USCode, at least it's easy to add this functionality by hand!
No problem MrMat, glad you found it useful!

I believe Fr34k is picking up the ball with VD and will continue development in the future, hopefully he'll be able to add the auto-resize feature to VD.
User avatar
Paul
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:34 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Paul »

Or do what others do and use PureVision :)
Image Image
FloHimself
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 3:38 pm
Location: Lüneburg - Germany

Post by FloHimself »

very nice code!

please add:

Code: Select all

Procedure RS_Unregister(RS_window.l, RS_gadget.l) 
  ResetList(RS_Gadgets()) 
  While NextElement(RS_Gadgets()) 
    If (RS_Gadgets()\Window = RS_window) And (RS_Gadgets()\Gadget = RS_gadget)
      DeleteElement(RS_Gadgets())
    EndIf
  Wend
EndProcedure 
User avatar
Flype
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1542
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: In a long distant galaxy

Post by Flype »

yes good job !

it could be a good idea to make from this excellent piece of code
a userlibrary like the PureLVSort or the PureCOLOR one.
:idea:
No programming language is perfect. There is not even a single best language.
There are only languages well suited or perhaps poorly suited for particular purposes. Herbert Mayer
gnozal
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 4229
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Location: Strasbourg / France
Contact:

Post by gnozal »

Funny you ask this, because I started a PureRESIZE library a time ago (never finished it). Maybe I will work on it again...

EDIT
I had some time last night so here is the first version as requested viewtopic.php?t=13349
No help file yet... Not much tested...
Last edited by gnozal on Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Flype
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1542
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: In a long distant galaxy

Post by Flype »

cool good news... i'll test it right now ! :D
No programming language is perfect. There is not even a single best language.
There are only languages well suited or perhaps poorly suited for particular purposes. Herbert Mayer
User avatar
USCode
Addict
Addict
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle, USA

Thanks FloHimself

Post by USCode »

Thanks for the RS_Unregister procedure FloHimself. Seems like a reasonable thing to have. I haven't tested it but it looks straightforward enough. :)
I've added it to my code originally posted in this thread.
User avatar
USCode
Addict
Addict
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: Seattle, USA

PB 4.0 version added

Post by USCode »

New version for PB 4.0 added to original posting.
User avatar
NoahPhense
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:30 pm
Location: North Florida

Post by NoahPhense »

@gnozal

I just had to add this.. ;) My blackice picks up your GIF.. and reports it
as such everytime I enter a thread that you are in.

http://www.iss.net/security_center/refe ... 16027.html

people.freenet.de :D

- np
gnozal
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 4229
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Location: Strasbourg / France
Contact:

Post by gnozal »

NoahPhense wrote:@gnozal

I just had to add this.. ;) My blackice picks up your GIF.. and reports it
as such everytime I enter a thread that you are in.

http://www.iss.net/security_center/refe ... 16027.html

people.freenet.de :D

- np
:shock: Don't remember from where I got this GIF, but I am using it since quite a while ...
I am behind a corporate firewall, and it don't complain.
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).
Post Reply