is there a way to turn off the screen (Monitor) with p.b.?

Just starting out? Need help? Post your questions and find answers here.
debaser
New User
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 1:59 pm

is there a way to turn off the screen (Monitor) with p.b.?

Post by debaser »

i need an app that turns off the screen...just like a screen saver.
and reactivate it when i hit a button.

why?
cause when i record a guitar track with my pc the sound is full of hum when the screen it's on.

thank youuuu
deb
Jimbo_H
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 7:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, England

Re: is there a way to turn off the screen (Monitor) with p.b

Post by Jimbo_H »

debaser wrote:i need an app that turns off the screen...just like a screen saver.
and reactivate it when i hit a button.

why?
cause when i record a guitar track with my pc the sound is full of hum when the screen it's on.

thank youuuu
deb
The easiest way would be to put a shortcut on your desktop to the blank screen screensaver (say that when you're drunk!) and just double click as needed. Saves writing a program to do the same thing. Or, am I misreading the question? :)

Jim
dagcrack
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1868
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:47 am
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Post by dagcrack »

ehh I think that wouldnt help.. as the monitor would still be ON but just showing black all the time ... no? - Hes getting some noise / interference

(weird... which equipments are you using? you sure dont have any sound wires close to 220v - 110v maybe in your country - ??? ) weird again..
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

powersaving may kick in
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
thefool
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5881
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by thefool »

I found a delphi code to do this, and converted it.
Needs a window, though

Code: Select all

#SC_MONITORPOWER= $F170 
#WM_SYSCOMMAND = $112
window=OpenWindow(1,1,1,1,1,#PB_Window_Invisible,"")
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,2 )
User avatar
Joakim Christiansen
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2452
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:12 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Joakim Christiansen »

My monitor sometimes make a humming noice when it's displaying bright colors, it's weird...
I like logic, hence I dislike humans but love computers.
User avatar
Droopy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 658
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Droopy »

Cool for my Lib :D

Code: Select all

; Author : thefool
; Turn off the monitor  : 2
; Standby monitor       : 1
; Turn on the monitor   : -1

#SC_MONITORPOWER= $F170 
#WM_SYSCOMMAND = $112 

window=OpenWindow(1,1,1,1,1,#PB_Window_Invisible,"") 
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,2 )
Delay(1000) 
WaitWindowEvent()
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,-1 )
Thanks
User avatar
J. Baker
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by J. Baker »

Droopy wrote:Cool for my Lib :D

Code: Select all

; Author : thefool
; Turn off the monitor  : 2
; Standby monitor       : 1
; Turn on the monitor   : -1

#SC_MONITORPOWER= $F170 
#WM_SYSCOMMAND = $112 

window=OpenWindow(1,1,1,1,1,#PB_Window_Invisible,"") 
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,2 )
Delay(1000) 
WaitWindowEvent()
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,-1 )
Thanks
Doesn't work properly here. It does put it in stanby mode with "1" or "2" but "2" doesn't turn it off. "-1" doesn't turn it on either.
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.
User avatar
Droopy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 658
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Droopy »

Works @ home ( XP / Geforce 4 ti 4200 / Hyundai Q15 )
Works @ Work ( XP / Intel Graphic / HP 21" P110 )

strange, try moving the mouse to turn it on .
User avatar
J. Baker
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by J. Baker »

Droopy wrote:Works @ home ( XP / Geforce 4 ti 4200 / Hyundai Q15 )
Works @ Work ( XP / Intel Graphic / HP 21" P110 )

strange, try moving the mouse to turn it on .
It might have something to do if the mobo supports this feature or not. Can't seem to get it to work, oh well.
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.
debaser
New User
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 1:59 pm

Post by debaser »

great!
thanks a lot

well it's not an issue of wires.... is just the radiations of my crt through my pickups
User avatar
Rescator
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1769
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Rescator »

I've experienced the issue myself before!
The best solution (next to bying a super expensive super shielded monitor)
(a LCD make less radiation btw, might wanna try that)

Is to simply turn off the power of the monitor,
hit the record hotkey play then when done hit the record hotkey again to stop,
then turn on the monitor.
And when I say turn off/on, I mean the actual power button,
not any standby modes etc. as those still causes radiation,
or PSU load/hum in the monitor.

Also be aware that the monitor will leak radiation/interfearance even for a few seconds after the monitor has been turned off. wait at least 10 sec or more...
Post Reply