Request for comments

Developed or developing a new product in PureBasic? Tell the world about it.
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by tinman.

Hi,

I was wondering if some people here could test a small program I have written and give me some feedback on it.

The program is only a test for the GUI code I have written so far. But I am not sure about how well it handles the Windows default fonts. I am using the ANSI_VAR_FONT which seems to always be set to "MS Sans Serif" and 12 pixels high here (Win98 and Win95). I have been loading it so that it it always loads at the specified number of pixels, regardless of font resolution (set in the Display properties of the control panel) as that seemed to be what most other Windows apps do (and seems to be how the MS programs work).

I am asking if people could download it and see how it compares to other programs when using different font resolutions (especially on later editions of Windows, or things which are more customizable than Win98).

If you are interested, you can get it from
http://www.david-mcminn.co.uk/files/layout.zip

Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.


--
It's not minimalist - I'm increasing efficiency by reducing input effort.
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by Danilo.

Looks fine on Win2k SP2.

Only resize doesnt work like it should.

cya,
...Danilo

(registered PureBasic user)
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by tinman.
Looks fine on Win2k SP2.

Only resize doesnt work like it should.
Thanks for testing it. Could explain a little more about the resize bug, as it seems to work fine for me (except I've just noticed the graphics for the Frame3DGadget get left in the window when it is resized).

Thanks.


--
It's not minimalist - I'm increasing efficiency by reducing input effort.
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by Danilo.

Your program doesnt resize "on the fly" like
every other Windows application.

It redraws after i release the MouseButton.
As long as i hold the MouseButton and resize
the Window, it looks not very nice...

Only a little thing, but every app resizes
"on the fly" -> so we should do it the same way.

You use the Resize-Event not the WM_PAINT event, right ??
(hint :)

cya,
...Danilo

(registered PureBasic user)
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by fred.

You have to use the callback to resize on-the-fly... BTW, works ok here (exept for Frame3DGadget() as you noticed it).


Edited by - fred on 06 May 2002 18:30:41
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by tinman.
Your program doesnt resize "on the fly" like
every other Windows application.
Ahh, OK. I had never even considered that and TBH I don't think I have seen many applications which work like that. But it is a nice tip, I will need to have a look to see if I can do it. Thanks (and to Fred too, you must have had some spare time after finishing 3.10 :wink:


--
It's not minimalist - I'm increasing efficiency by reducing input effort.
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by Danilo.

tinman ??

I have _never ever_ seen a resize like yours before i used PureBasic.

Every application resizes "on-the-fly"...
...but maybe i´m using the wrong appz.

cya,
...Danilo

(registered PureBasic user)
BackupUser
PureBasic Guru
PureBasic Guru
Posts: 16777133
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 7:42 pm

Post by BackupUser »

Restored from previous forum. Originally posted by tinman.
tinman ??

I have _never ever_ seen a resize like yours before i used PureBasic.

Every application resizes "on-the-fly"...
...but maybe i´m using the wrong appz.
Really? I'm confused now.

What does my app look like when you resize? On my system I get the outline of the window which is used to change the size of the window. When I release the mouse button, all the gadgets are resized.

Oh, wait a minute, I just remembered the "show window contents while dragging" option in Windows which I always have turned off. Hmm, yeah, I see what you mean now - all gadgets stay the same size in my app, but not others.

Bah :)
(Thanks for letting me know, I got it working now)

--
It's not minimalist - I'm increasing efficiency by reducing input effort.

Edited by - tinman on 08 May 2002 12:22:22
Post Reply