Arduino dev under windows?

Everything else that doesn't fall into one of the other PB categories.
User avatar
Fangbeast
PureBasic Protozoa
PureBasic Protozoa
Posts: 4749
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: Not Sydney!!! (Bad water, no goats)

Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Fangbeast »

I've only dabbled in Arduino under windows for 2 years so never tried to do it under PB yet.

Can you code for a a Duino under PB for Windows and if so, which compiler?

Can anyone tell me what to do as I am interested.

First thing I ever got working was the ESP32CAM programmed from the Arduino and it worked a treat. Then I tried the native programmer board that came with the ESP32ROVER and it had a USB, wireless and Bluetooth interface and I'd like to be able to try that in my lifetime under pb.
Amateur Radio, D-STAR/VK3HAF
User avatar
Caronte3D
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:33 pm
Location: Some Universe

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Caronte3D »

No Arduino compiler available from PB :(
BTW: Would be awesome to have it.
User avatar
Fangbeast
PureBasic Protozoa
PureBasic Protozoa
Posts: 4749
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: Not Sydney!!! (Bad water, no goats)

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Fangbeast »

Okay, thanks.
Amateur Radio, D-STAR/VK3HAF
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3994
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by skywalk »

Arduino has an api, not a full blown o/s. It is usually married to a raspberryPI computer for control of the Arduino TTL and GPIO pins.
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
User avatar
Fangbeast
PureBasic Protozoa
PureBasic Protozoa
Posts: 4749
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: Not Sydney!!! (Bad water, no goats)

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Fangbeast »

skywalk wrote: Mon Feb 26, 2024 11:39 pm Arduino has an api, not a full blown o/s. It is usually married to a raspberryPI computer for control of the Arduino TTL and GPIO pins.
Same problem with the ESP32 I suspect. Oh well, I will stick to what I am doing then.
Amateur Radio, D-STAR/VK3HAF
User avatar
Caronte3D
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:33 pm
Location: Some Universe

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Caronte3D »

If you want to code like basic language, you can try B4R:
https://www.b4x.com/b4r.html
User avatar
Fangbeast
PureBasic Protozoa
PureBasic Protozoa
Posts: 4749
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: Not Sydney!!! (Bad water, no goats)

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Fangbeast »

Caronte3D wrote: Tue Feb 27, 2024 11:13 am If you want to code like basic language, you can try B4R:
https://www.b4x.com/b4r.html
Thanks but I want to do it with PureBasic. I am fast running out of brain at my age to learn anything new outside of PB and have had lots of health issues.

I'll be lucky if I ever finish my current monster project. Monster to me:)
Amateur Radio, D-STAR/VK3HAF
User avatar
Caronte3D
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:33 pm
Location: Some Universe

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Caronte3D »

I also want to do it with PureBasic, but simply not possible
DarkDragon
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2228
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:16 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by DarkDragon »

Arduinos are usually AtMega based microcontrollers with around 16MHz, 32Kbytes programmable memory, 1Kbyte EEPROM and 2Kbytes SRAM. There's no operating system or anything like that on them. Almost no library could be used. You'd need other functionality though like access to interrupts, timers, GPIO, ADCs etc. So even if PureBasic were possible there, you'd need to calculate frequency prescalers and so on, so everything would be different and nothing like the normal PureBasic you're used on your desktop. The only thing you'd be able to use is the syntax and lists/maps/arrays maybe.

And ESP32 is a different architecture, but still it would be more like the AtMegas or Arduinos than a desktop pc. Even python and nodejs are very limited there.
bye,
Daniel
TassyJim
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:27 am
Location: Tasmania (Australia)

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by TassyJim »

If you are willing to try the RPi Pico, there is a version of Basic for it that runs interpreted code.
It is NOT PureBasic but there is an IDE that is written (badly by me) in PureBasic.
Most users simply code using any terminal program and the inbuilt editor.

https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewForum.php?FID=16

Jim
User avatar
Fangbeast
PureBasic Protozoa
PureBasic Protozoa
Posts: 4749
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: Not Sydney!!! (Bad water, no goats)

Re: Arduino dev under windows?

Post by Fangbeast »

If you are willing to try the RPi Pico
Thanks Jim but I can't afford yet another thing at the moment. Got the 'Duino' and at least 10 ESP32's in the drawer crying for attention:):):):)
Amateur Radio, D-STAR/VK3HAF
Post Reply