Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post bugs related to the IDE here
Cyllceaux
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:18 pm
Contact:

Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by Cyllceaux »

I got this sometimes, when I have more than one instance of PB running.

Image

File: ScintillaHilightning.pb
Line: 3108

Branch: v5.70 Revision: 1836
IdeasVacuum
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 6425
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by IdeasVacuum »

Hi Cyllceaux

Does that path actually exist on your PC? I don't see anything like it here. If you are not installing to the Program Files folder, you can expect trouble. All hail the mighty MS.
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.
Cyllceaux
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by Cyllceaux »

Hi IdeasVacuum,

I installed it in the program Files folders. Everything default.

It happens sometimes, not always. I saw it on 2 separat Desktop PCs.
User avatar
NicTheQuick
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1224
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Location: Germany, Saarbrücken
Contact:

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by NicTheQuick »

This path exists on freaks PC, one of the developer of Purebasic.
The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16619
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by Fred »

It's to help us to find the culprit line, but in this case, it doesn't help as it point to an 'EndProcedure'. So maybe the stack has been corrupted somewhere else, we will need more info to fix this crash unfortunately.
williamvanhoecke
User
User
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by williamvanhoecke »

Hi all,
I was specifically searching the forum for 'invalid memory access' because my code is suffering from this error.
Strangly the error appears sporadically 1 out of 10 times ???

Just tried that simple example on Windows 10 64bit

Code: Select all

Procedure test()
Static Dim t1.i(10, 10)
Static Dim t2.i(10)
EndProcedure

test()
compiling 32bit = OK
compiling 64bit = invalid memory access

As you can see here
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1V4pnv ... gVc-5g_FSf
the error occures at the first line ??

So I guess the 64b comiler still has a bug.
User avatar
chi
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 5:31 pm
Location: Linz, Austria

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by chi »

Already reported here

Temp. fix:

Code: Select all

Procedure test()
  Static Dim t2.i(10)
  Static Dim t1.i(10, 10)
EndProcedure

test()
Et cetera is my worst enemy
williamvanhoecke
User
User
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by williamvanhoecke »

Hello chi,

I knew about this temporary fix, but my code is fare more complex and use a number of multidimension arrays
I get all kind of "invalid memory acces" errors.
f.i. An executable that works fine in one directory fails with "invalid memory acces" when its is run from another directory.
Sometimes there are no errors at all. Its all very random and weared, always another line failing but always with multidimension arrays.

At first I was sure that is was only related to the 64bit compiler but it also happens with the 32bit.

I wonder if someone is working on this bug ???
TheRabble
New User
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by TheRabble »

Just purchased PB and used it for about 30 minutes. Did very little. Created a project and a form and added a few lines of code.(Selected load all sources of the project.) Left PB. When I try to run I get the Invalid Memory Access error message. Click ok and exit PB. Can't run PB.
Uninstalled PB and ran memory diagnostics. Rebooted and reinstalled. Same thing.
Any ideas on how to get PB to even run...?
Thanks
IdeasVacuum
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 6425
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by IdeasVacuum »

Hello TheRabble

That's really unusual, but my hunch is that you are running an Anti-Virus such as Avast? If so, you will need to white-list all PB folders. In particular, when you run your program from the IDE, some AV programs intercept the temporary exe made by PB.
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.
TheRabble
New User
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by TheRabble »

I use Norton which I turned off and I get the same error message. When I click OK on the error dialog PB shuts down. I restarted in safe mode and still can't run PB. I uninstalled again and downloaded the 64b version again. No luck. I installed the 32b version and it does the same thing. Same error message and PB shuts down when OK is clicked.
Any idea on how to get PB to run.? I sent 2 emails to support but no reply.
IdeasVacuum
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 6425
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by IdeasVacuum »

Hi TheRabble

What is your exact OS?
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.
TheRabble
New User
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by TheRabble »

Hi IdeasVacum

Using Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center.
User avatar
HeX0R
Addict
Addict
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Hell

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by HeX0R »

Could you please share the complete code (including the form) you are going to run?
The debugger is on, right?
TheRabble
New User
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am

Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS

Post by TheRabble »

Greetings HeXor

That's the problem. I can't run PB. When the program opens the error dialog is there. I close it and PB closes.
Post Reply