HTML5 Browser

Developed or developing a new product in PureBasic? Tell the world about it.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Derren wrote:
---------------------------
Security Warning
---------------------------
An attempt to load an unsafe library was detected and blocked.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
At work (Win7 64x). I'm not sure if this warning is generated by your program or by the system (the MessageRequester only says "Security Warning" in the title, nothing that would indicate that it belongs to your tool) and no log file is generated in the directory you specified earlier.
That's a Forkle message (I will make that clearer in the next build).
Does this warning get triggered on a specific URL? Is it an intranet page by any chance?
User avatar
Derren
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:13 am
Location: Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Derren »

On startup. It takes 1-2 seconds, then this message appears. Clicking "OK" terminates the program.
I don't see any website loaded or URL in the address bar.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Derren wrote:On startup. It takes 1-2 seconds, then this message appears. Clicking "OK" terminates the program.
I don't see any website loaded or URL in the address bar.
This one will be tough to troubleshoot as I don't have access to a Win 7 system at this time.
Perhaps worth a try:

In your system's Internet Options, ensure that third-party browser extensions are disabled:

Image
User avatar
Derren
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:13 am
Location: Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Derren »

Can't disable it at work :(
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

firace wrote:On Windows 10? Weird, I thought that setting was off by default.
Well, I cannot recall ever having heard such a "Start Navigation" sound before.
To be sure, I just tested it: Neither Chrome, nor Firefox, nor IE 11, nor Edge produces a sound when opening a new page. Maybe you can switch that sound off in Forkle? That would be especially useful for portable usage on a USB thumb drive, since I certainly are not going to change any system settings on other people's computers.
However, I'll probably mostly use Forkle on one of my own PCs, so this point isn't crucial for me.
firace wrote:This is an old system setting - try disabling it in your system sound settings.
That worked fine for me, and now I'm enjoying the "sound of silence". :-)
Thank you for your detailed instructons!
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

Oh, I almost forgot ...
Forkle has an important feature, but as far as I can see it is not yet documented:
Forkle accepts a URL as parameter on the command line.
I find that very useful.
User avatar
useful
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:36 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by useful »

If you add it to tld.ini (.ru and .su) you can see a successful test
html5up.net (Aerial) - forkle.exe https://mvit.su
spiderbasic - forkle.exe https://croquis.sibnethost.ru

p.s. It would be very useful to be able to specify the /FULLSCREEN parameter in addition to the URL in the command line
Dawn will come inevitably.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

useful wrote:If you add it to tld.ini (.ru and .su) you can see a successful test
html5up.net (Aerial) - forkle.exe https://mvit.su
spiderbasic - forkle.exe https://croquis.sibnethost.ru

p.s. It would be very useful to be able to specify the /FULLSCREEN parameter in addition to the URL in the command line
A Fullscreen parameter is on my todo list :)
Thanks for your testing!
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Little John wrote:Maybe you can switch that sound off in Forkle? That would be especially useful for portable usage on a USB thumb drive, since I certainly are not going to change any system settings on other people's computers.
However, I'll probably mostly use Forkle on one of my own PCs, so this point isn't crucial for me.


I will look into it. By the way, did you have that annoying sound issue on both Windows 10 computers? I'm trying to find out what the default setting is.
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

firace wrote:I will look into it.
Thank you.
firace wrote:By the way, did you have that annoying sound issue on both Windows 10 computers? I'm trying to find out what the default setting is.
Yes, on both computers with Windows 10 Pro (October 2018 Update).
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

There's a new experimental command-line parameter introduced in the latest version:
-nc starts the browser in chromeless mode: no address bar, no hamburger menu for maximum viewing space

example:

Code: Select all

 forkle -nc https://lite.cnn.io
User avatar
useful
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:36 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by useful »

-nc is great, but now you want to set the window size (you can set it as a percentage of your desktop) and location (for example, the center)

p.s. A small remark. There's a white stripe of a few pixels at the top of the window

p.p.s To display spiderbasic applications, your browser is ideal. The problem is to convince potential users of security, you need to take care of the official signature and other trust attributes.
Dawn will come inevitably.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

@useful: Thanks for your feedback. I will look into these things in future releases.
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

firace wrote:I made a very simple (single-tab) HTML5 web browser.
firace, do you plan support for multiple tabs in a future version of Forkle?
For seriously collecting lots of information from the internet (as I do e.g. in my job), opening multiple tabs (and/or multiple browser windows) is essential for me.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Little John wrote:
firace wrote:I made a very simple (single-tab) HTML5 web browser.
firace, do you plan support for multiple tabs in a future version of Forkle?
For seriously collecting lots of information from the internet (as I do e.g. in my job), opening multiple tabs (and/or multiple browser windows) is essential for me.
No final decision on that yet. I do realize that single-tab can be a big limitation, and I'm looking at a few options, but can't make any promises at this stage.
Post Reply