Generating and saving random 3D cloud animations

Everything else that doesn't fall into one of the other PB categories.
Seymour Clufley
Addict
Addict

Generating and saving random 3D cloud animations

Post by Seymour Clufley »

I would like to generate random 3D animations (of moving clouds against a sky) at 1920x1080 resolution and save them as image sequences - numbered PNG files. Unfortunately, I have never done any 3D stuff with PB before. I have plenty of experience with the 2D functions, but none at all with the 3D functions.

Ogre seems capable of rendering good 3D clouds, but so does OpenGL, so I don't know which of these engines to choose. A complicating factor is that I don't know whether PB allows access to enough of the functions of these engines to draw good clouds. What would experienced users say about that?

Then there is the requirement to "record" the animations. Whether I choose OpenGL or Ogre (or some other system), I will need to be able to grab the animation 25 times a second and save it to file. Would screenshotting the window be the way to do this?

I get the feeling that this is not the kind of thing that PB's 3D engine is intended for, so I want to ask: is it insane to pursue this? Are the things I want to do actually possible with the current toolset in PB?

Thank you.
JACK WEBB: "Coding in C is like sculpting a statue using only sandpaper. You can do it, but the result wouldn't be any better. So why bother? Just use the right tools and get the job done."
IdeasVacuum
Always Here
Always Here

Re: Generating and saving random 3D cloud animations

Post by IdeasVacuum »

Hi Seymour, Another possible solution would be to take a sequence of time-lapse photos of the real thing?
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.
Seymour Clufley
Addict
Addict

Yes, but the point of this is to have a program set up so that I can just press F5 and get a new cloud sequence. :)