I'm interested in PB.... I think?

Everything else that doesn't fall into one of the other PB categories.
Zach
Addict
Addict

I'm interested in PB.... I think?

Post by Zach »

Hi,

This might turn out to be a long winded sort of post, so sorry about that.. It's a Habit of mine that comes from a strong writing background.

I'm wondering if PB might be the right language for me. Currently I am a DBPro user, but I am still a considerable novice in that regard. I originally purchased DBPro as it had been a curiosity I watched for years, and then, well they had a really good sale going on :wink: I'm not keen on spending lots of money on programming languages, but at the same time the "free" alternatives such as C/C++ or Java, or Python/Ruby/LUA all have little things about them that bug me.. C/C++ in particular I think I will never wrap my head around. I've wasted quite a bit of money on books already. Java feels the same way, although slightly easier - but too verbose for my taste. The scripting languages, are just a pain to get into an kind of EXE form, especially if I ever want to do something cross platform (I like to work with actively maintained, easy to use tools).

DBpro has been an interesting learning experience so far.. But sometimes I feel a little limited in what I want to do with it. I actually think this is because I was spoiled by Python, which is OO and whose syntax I just felt so natural and at ease with. I don't have a problem with Procedural Languages, so it's not that part that bugs me (although sometimes I do feel boxed in).. But I also have concerns about the future of DBPro and how many more updates will be seen, and what kind of feature sets that might mean (if any at all).. Kind of a concern with any commercial language I guess? I mean you can't even make a simple GUI that easily in DBpro without user plugins, and then it's still got to be done in the DBpro Window, or worse off, by way of spawning a separate entirely new window.