[5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post bugs related to the IDE here
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4000
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

[5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Little John »

In the final release of PB 5.72 LTS for Windows (at least in the x64 version), there is a very nasty bug in the IDE: It happens rather often here (on Windows 10) that it's not possible anymore to resize or terminate the IDE. This happened when the IDE is minimized, and also when it is maximized. Also mouse clicks at the main menu and at the toolbar don't have any effect.
I have never encountered something similar before in previous PB releases (on Windows).
Please excuse my flawed English. My native language is PureBasic.
Search
RSBasic's backups
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3532
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by skywalk »

No problems here: Windows 10 Pro v1909, 6.3.18363.720
What are the steps to reproduce?
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4000
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Little John »

skywalk wrote:What are the steps to reproduce?
At the moment, I don't know. It seems to happen "out of the blue".
Please excuse my flawed English. My native language is PureBasic.
Search
RSBasic's backups
User_Russian
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1194
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:01 pm
Location: Russia

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by User_Russian »

I confirm.
In some circumstances, the IDE freezes.
User avatar
Blue
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:41 am
Location: Canada

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Blue »

I, too, have encountered this nasty problem. The IDE suddenly, for no immediately identifiable reason, just stops responding.

Is this a PB bug, or a Windows one ?

I'm running PB 5.72 in Windows 10 X64 2004, build 19041.207

As well, the IDE loads up blank. It seems to have suddenly forgotten its history, even though the files in the roaming folder (History, tools, preferences) appear intact. The list of recent files also appears accurate.
"That's not a bug..." said the programmer. "it's a feature! "
"Oh! I see..." replied the blind man.
BarryG
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1556
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:17 am

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by BarryG »

I hope this isn't a sign of things to come due to the IDE being open-source now? My fear is that people are making changes that are accidentally breaking things behind the scenes.
User avatar
Tristano
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Tristano »

I haven't experience the above mentioned problems with the latest IDE release, and I also work on Win 10 x64.

The fact that it's affecting some users and not others might indicate some common hardware which might be incompatible (or trig the bug) — e.g. do you work with multiple monitors?

It could be a problem related to DPI awareness, since it's affecting window resizing/minimizing operations.

If it was an IDE bug, probably every Win user would be experiencing it. But since it only affects some machines, it might be a PB bug.
The PureBASIC Archives: FOSS Resources:
Bitblazer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:17 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Bitblazer »

I never experienced that on win7 ultimate x64.
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4000
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Little John »

BarryG wrote:My fear is that people are making changes that are accidentally breaking things behind the scenes.
That's my fear, too.
Please excuse my flawed English. My native language is PureBasic.
Search
RSBasic's backups
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 14348
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [5.72 LTS] IDE not responsive

Post by Fred »

I guess it's a whole new process, we are also reviewing the new code before pushing it to the main branch, so we need to get better at it to avoid such issues :)
Post Reply