The compilation status window

Post bugs related to the IDE here
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

The compilation status window

Post by StarBootics »

Hello everyone,

Not really a bug but very very annoying on a double screen setup. This tiny window should be #PB_Window_WindowCentered on the Main PB IDE window.

Image

http://gsaumure.x10host.com/forum/PB_Co ... Status.png

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t3dwh5q2jo6ke ... s.png?dl=0

Best regards
StarBootics
Last edited by StarBootics on Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
User avatar
Paul
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 1062
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:34 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: The compilation status window

Post by Paul »

Not sure what you are seeing but when you post an image from a website that does not use "https" we see this...

Image
Image Image
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

Re: The compilation status window

Post by StarBootics »

Paul wrote:Not sure what you are seeing but when you post an image from a website that does not use "https" we see this...
Strange because here on my computer (Ubuntu + FireFox) I see the image perfectly :?

I have added the link to this image and when I click on it I also see it. Can you tell me if it work ?

I have also added a link dropbox to this image as well, just in case.

Best regards
StarBootics
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
BarryG
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:17 am

Re: The compilation status window

Post by BarryG »

I saw the image fine in your post, even before Paul's reply, and it still shows fine for me now. Something might be up with Paul's browser?
User avatar
kenmo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 3:54 am

Re: The compilation status window

Post by kenmo »

I see your image (though we don't really need it!) and I agree: The compilation progress window is centered in the screen, should be centered in the IDE. I bet that's a simple maybe one-line change in the IDE code.
User avatar
Tenaja
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1810
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:15 pm

Re: The compilation status window

Post by Tenaja »

BarryG wrote:I saw the image fine in your post, even before Paul's reply, and it still shows fine for me now. Something might be up with Paul's browser?
I read a few months ago that some of the newer browsers (chrome, I think) are calling all http sites (as opposed to https) dangerous. I think it can be disabled.

The image is not visible in my browser, which is Brave, a chrome fork designed for privacy & security. This site is https, but I think my settings prohibit cross-site data. Not sure, I've been living with it for so long...
BarryG
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:17 am

Re: The compilation status window

Post by BarryG »

I just connected a second monitor and set both to be one large desktop, and the "Compiling" window is centered in the IDE and not in the middle of both.
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

Re: The compilation status window

Post by StarBootics »

BarryG wrote:I just connected a second monitor and set both to be one large desktop, and the "Compiling" window is centered in the IDE and not in the middle of both.
Euh, you are on Windows, right ?

Because on Ubuntu when I have the IDE opened on Monitor #1 this tiny window appear on Monitor #2 and When the IDE is opened on Monitor#2 it appear on Monitor#2 as well but not centered. It appear in the middle of both plus an offset to the right so the entire window is on Monitor #2.

I have check the IDE source code for that particular Window. https://github.com/fantaisie-software/p ... rWindow.pb

As I have suspected on line 165 :

Code: Select all

OpenWindow(#WINDOW_Compiler, 0, 0, 200, 50, #ProductName$, #PB_Window_ScreenCentered | #PB_Window_TitleBar | #PB_Window_Invisible, WindowID(#WINDOW_Main))
But should be modified to be like this :

Code: Select all

OpenWindow(#WINDOW_Compiler, 0, 0, 200, 50, #ProductName$, #PB_Window_WindowCentered | #PB_Window_TitleBar | #PB_Window_Invisible, WindowID(#WINDOW_Main))
Best regards
StarBootics
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
BarryG
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:17 am

Re: The compilation status window

Post by BarryG »

StarBootics wrote:Euh, you are on Windows, right ?
Oh, right. Yes. You never mentioned Linux in your post so I just assumed the problem was for all OSes and that you used a Linux screenshot to show it.
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

Re: The compilation status window

Post by StarBootics »

BarryG wrote:
StarBootics wrote:Euh, you are on Windows, right ?
Oh, right. Yes. You never mentioned Linux in your post so I just assumed the problem was for all OSes and that you used a Linux screenshot to show it.
Yes, my bad...

That being said the constant change should not affect others OSes. Also the difference of behaviors could suggest that a bug is present into the Windows handling lib.

Best regards
StarBootics
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
User avatar
kenmo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 3:54 am

Re: The compilation status window

Post by kenmo »

I am on Windows (7 right now) and confirm it displays ScreenCentered, not WindowCentered.

StarBootics if you have a GitHub account you could submit this as a one-line change.
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

Re: The compilation status window

Post by StarBootics »

kenmo wrote:StarBootics if you have a GitHub account you could submit this as a one-line change.
I don't have a GitHub account that's why I have posted here.

Best regards
StarBootics
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
User avatar
StarBootics
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:35 am
Location: Canada

Re: The compilation status window

Post by StarBootics »

Hello everyone,

I have just created an account on github few minutes ago and made a Request for this issue.

I think the Splash screen is also affected but I need to search the code for that.

Best regards
StarBootics
The Stone Age did not end due to a shortage of stones !
Post Reply