It is currently Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:44 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 8:54 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:18 pm
Posts: 165
I got this sometimes, when I have more than one instance of PB running.

Image

File: ScintillaHilightning.pb
Line: 3108

Branch: v5.70 Revision: 1836


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 12:17 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Posts: 5954
Location: Wales, UK
Hi Cyllceaux

Does that path actually exist on your PC? I don't see anything like it here. If you are not installing to the Program Files folder, you can expect trouble. All hail the mighty MS.

_________________
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 6:58 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:18 pm
Posts: 165
Hi IdeasVacuum,

I installed it in the program Files folders. Everything default.

It happens sometimes, not always. I saw it on 2 separat Desktop PCs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 7:23 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 465
Location: Germany, Saarbrücken
This path exists on freaks PC, one of the developer of Purebasic.

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 10:11 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 13701
Location: France
It's to help us to find the culprit line, but in this case, it doesn't help as it point to an 'EndProcedure'. So maybe the stack has been corrupted somewhere else, we will need more info to fix this crash unfortunately.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:05 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:13 pm
Posts: 10
Hi all,
I was specifically searching the forum for 'invalid memory access' because my code is suffering from this error.
Strangly the error appears sporadically 1 out of 10 times ???

Just tried that simple example on Windows 10 64bit

Code:
Procedure test()
Static Dim t1.i(10, 10)
Static Dim t2.i(10)
EndProcedure

test()


compiling 32bit = OK
compiling 64bit = invalid memory access

As you can see here
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1V4pnvefjbOtOauhMm4E4uVgVc-5g_FSf
the error occures at the first line ??

So I guess the 64b comiler still has a bug.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:37 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 5:31 pm
Posts: 656
Location: Linz, Austria
Already reported here

Temp. fix:
Code:
Procedure test()
  Static Dim t2.i(10)
  Static Dim t1.i(10, 10)
EndProcedure

test()


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 2:21 am 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:13 pm
Posts: 10
Hello chi,

I knew about this temporary fix, but my code is fare more complex and use a number of multidimension arrays
I get all kind of "invalid memory acces" errors.
f.i. An executable that works fine in one directory fails with "invalid memory acces" when its is run from another directory.
Sometimes there are no errors at all. Its all very random and weared, always another line failing but always with multidimension arrays.

At first I was sure that is was only related to the 64bit compiler but it also happens with the 32bit.

I wonder if someone is working on this bug ???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:11 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am
Posts: 6
Just purchased PB and used it for about 30 minutes. Did very little. Created a project and a form and added a few lines of code.(Selected load all sources of the project.) Left PB. When I try to run I get the Invalid Memory Access error message. Click ok and exit PB. Can't run PB.
Uninstalled PB and ran memory diagnostics. Rebooted and reinstalled. Same thing.
Any ideas on how to get PB to even run...?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:39 am 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Posts: 5954
Location: Wales, UK
Hello TheRabble

That's really unusual, but my hunch is that you are running an Anti-Virus such as Avast? If so, you will need to white-list all PB folders. In particular, when you run your program from the IDE, some AV programs intercept the temporary exe made by PB.

_________________
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:50 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am
Posts: 6
I use Norton which I turned off and I get the same error message. When I click OK on the error dialog PB shuts down. I restarted in safe mode and still can't run PB. I uninstalled again and downloaded the 64b version again. No luck. I installed the 32b version and it does the same thing. Same error message and PB shuts down when OK is clicked.
Any idea on how to get PB to run.? I sent 2 emails to support but no reply.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:54 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Posts: 5954
Location: Wales, UK
Hi TheRabble

What is your exact OS?

_________________
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:32 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am
Posts: 6
Hi IdeasVacum

Using Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:35 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:12 am
Posts: 527
Location: Hell
Could you please share the complete code (including the form) you are going to run?
The debugger is on, right?

_________________
Link dead?
Change h3x0r.ath.cx into hex0rs.coderbu.de and all will be fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Invalid Memory Access in 5.71 beta 1 LTS
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:17 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:01 am
Posts: 6
Greetings HeXor

That's the problem. I can't run PB. When the program opens the error dialog is there. I close it and PB closes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye