Page 1 of 1

Pick commands

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:03 pm
by Psychophanta
I try to MousePick() some entities in screen but when entities are near , then the pick command is not able to "watch" the real mesh is pointed to with the mouse pointer, because the bounding boxes are overlapped ones over others.
As the manual says:
The entity pick is based on its bounding box, not on its mesh.
Is not there a way or workaround to pick the real viewed mesh?

Re: Pick commands

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:56 pm
by Comtois

Re: Pick commands

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:08 pm
by Psychophanta
Nice!
It is also an example of that in the native package, thanks! :oops: :)

Re: Pick commands

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:45 pm
by DarkDragon
The picking is implemented in a weird way though. Usually the scene is simply rendered into a offscreen buffer where each entity belongs to a color. From the color under the screen coordinate you can then get the entity back. This has nothing to do with bounding boxes usually!

The rayxasting is all performed on CPU and not efficient for large scenes. In my eyes this is a bug.

Re: Pick commands

Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 12:45 pm
by Psychophanta
DarkDragon wrote: Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:45 pm The picking is implemented in a weird way though. Usually the scene is simply rendered into a offscreen buffer where each entity belongs to a color. From the color under the screen coordinate you can then get the entity back. This has nothing to do with bounding boxes usually!

The rayxasting is all performed on CPU and not efficient for large scenes. In my eyes this is a bug.
Indeed, it is a featured bug.