It is currently Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:39 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:55 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:41 am
Posts: 717
Location: Canada
wish : have the search process start AFTER the highlighted expression.

The Find/Replace function in the IDE is not very sophisticated.
But it does the basic job.

However, it could easily and quickly be improved with the correction of its most annoying behaviour :
when the user clicks on the [Find Next] button, the search function instantaneously finds the highlighted expression that caused the Find/Replace dialog box to open ! :shock: Seriously useless behaviour.

PLEASE make the search process start AFTER the highlighted expression.
That would be a great improvement already.

_________________
"That's not a bug..." said the programmer. "...It's a feature! "
"Oh! I see..." replied the blind man.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 9:45 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:27 pm
Posts: 2544
It's not perfect, you're right. This behaviour guarantees to find also a changed searching text (select 'abc' in the IDE, then press the keys Ctrl+F, 'b', Enter).

For your case, you need to press also the key F3 to jump to the 'first' occurence.

Maybe the find/replace will get some enhancements, like regular expressions which would help finding coded variants like HideWindow(#Win,0) / HideWindow(#Win,#False) / HideWindow(#Win,#Null)... but there's already a long list of feature requests somewhere in the forum.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 2:24 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:41 am
Posts: 717
Location: Canada
So what’s your point ?
If the search starts after the selected expression, the function will either find its next occurrence, or it won’t find any. Which is what one expects from a “normal” search function. If the user modifies the selected item, maybe nothing won’t be found. Again, no big surprise; that’s the expected outcome.

No matter how you look at it, starting the search at the end of the selected item will be an improvement. I just don’t know of any text editor that starts a search with the very item that launched the search in the first place ! Even Windows’s venerable and very limited Notepad doesn’t do that.

Yes, there’s a long list of suggestions for improving the Find/Replace function in the IDE. Most involve a major rework of the function. This one here involves a very minor adjustment, and in my view, yields a major improvement. So, why not start with this baby step ? If the developers have the patience and time and energy, they’re certainly able to decide by themselves if they wish to tackle some of the other big suggested changes.

Meanwhile, we’ll all be happy with a more sensical initial behaviour of the function.

_________________
"That's not a bug..." said the programmer. "...It's a feature! "
"Oh! I see..." replied the blind man.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 11:07 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:27 pm
Posts: 2544
The find routine ignores the selection and just starts from the actual cursor position.

So all you have to do is selecting the text 'abc' starting from the rightmost character (works also with a double click) :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 12:11 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 1907
I don't understand this request. Both PureBasic and Notepad do searches the same way. That is, I type the search criteria, hit Enter to start searching, then hit F3 to find each next occurrence. Is there something I'm misunderstanding? :?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 12:38 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:27 pm
Posts: 2544
Some may want to jump to the next (!) occurence automatically when starting the find with a selected text, this means you need to press F3 less often. A lot of programs do different things here (Winword for instance skips the first character of a selection to avoid Blue's problem)...
...I wouldn't say it's that critical to do another F3 from time to time (more hurting are the replace bug and the missing of shortcuts in the find dialog), but this can be seen differently.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Starting point for Find Next
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 1:21 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm
Posts: 1907
Michael Vogel wrote:
you need to press F3 less often

Hang on... do you mean literally one single F3 keypress less, is the request? :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye