Classes in PureBasic

Got an idea for enhancing PureBasic? New command(s) you'd like to see?
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3972
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by skywalk »

We go round and round...:mrgreen:
I vote for procedures in structures 8)
Then they are insulated and private until the structure is used.
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
User avatar
fsw
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1572
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 9:18 pm
Location: North by Northwest

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by fsw »

People emphasize too much on classes and forget that classes come at a cost, especially if you mix stuff like multiple inheritance into the mix.
There are other ways to get modular programming going. (without the complexity...)

@Fred
Maybe we can get this instead:
(similar to the Go language - it has no "classy" oop either)

Code: Select all

Module MyMod

Structure Foo
    intFoo.i
EndStructure

Procedure.i (x.Foo) Get()
        ProcedureReturn x\intFoo
EndProcedure

Procedure (x.Foo) Set(value.i)
        x\intFoo = value
EndProcedure

;- main
Global myfoo.Foo 
myfoo\Set(123)
PrintN(Str(myfoo\Get()))
Where the "(x.Foo)" is the receiver of the procedure.

In the long run this is much more flexible and maybe even more powerful than the "class" thing.
Especially if each include file is a module and therefore each module can have procedures with the same name.
Last edited by fsw on Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

I am to provide the public with beneficial shocks.
Alfred Hitshock
User_Russian
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1443
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:01 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by User_Russian »

Fred wrote:PureBasic won't be object oriented, period.
Fred, let it be, not OOP, but need of isolation procedures (procedures available from a limited part of the code). Otherwise difficult to develop and support projects. I hope you agree with this?
This can be a Name Space and (or) procedures within the structure.
Especially if each include file is a module and therefore each module can have procedures with the same name.
+1000000
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Fred »

Namespaces (modules) are planned for code isolation, but it won't be OOP.
User avatar
Danilo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Danilo »

Fred wrote:Namespaces (modules) are planned for code isolation, but it won't be OOP.
How is it planned?

Code: Select all

Module GUI
   Procedure OpenWindow(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule

GUI\OpenWindow(...)
GUI->OpenWindow(...)
GUI_OpenWindow(...)
GUI#OpenWindow(...)
GUI?OpenWindow(...)
GUI::OpenWindow(...)
:?:
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Fred »

Like that:

GUI_OpenWindow(...)

With an OpenModule/CloseModule to avoid the prefix if you want to.
User avatar
Danilo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Danilo »

Fred wrote:Like that:

GUI_OpenWindow(...)

With an OpenModule/CloseModule to avoid the prefix if you want to.
Like this?

Code: Select all

Module GUI
   Procedure OpenWindow(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule

GUI_OpenWindow(...)

OpenModule GUI

    OpenWindow(...)

CloseModule
Sounds OK, but how is OpenWindow() within OpenModule/CloseModule differentiated from the real PB OpenWindow()? (name collision)
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Fred »

It will raise an error if your command name clash (like an user lib), so you will have to use the module prefix.
User avatar
luis
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3876
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by luis »

Code: Select all

GUI_OpenWindow() 
How do you know looking at the call you are invoking OpenWindow() in the module GUI and not a procedure named GUI_OpenWindow() ? After all GUI_OpenWindow is a valid name.

Wouldn't be better to use as separator something currently invalid in a procedure name ? For example GUI::OpenWindow()

Code: Select all

Module GUI
   Procedure OpenWindow(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule

GUI::OpenWindow(...)  ; call the one defined in the module GUI

OpenModule GUI
 OpenWindow(...)  ; call the one defined in the module GUI
CloseModule

OpenModule GUI
 Other::OpenWindow(...) ; call another OpenWindow from another module

 ::OpenWindow(...) ; call the implicit module (the only one we have now) hence call the PB OpenWindow

 OpenWindow(...) ; call the one defined in the module GUI

 OpenScreenWindow(...) ; not defined in the module, call the PB command
CloseModule

Fred wrote:It will raise an error if your command name clash (like an user lib), so you will have to use the module prefix.
Shouldn't be the purpose of modules to avoid the name clashing in the first place ?

Shouldn't work the other way around then ?

If I use OpenModule all the procedures I call should be searched in that module first without any collision. If it's defined, I call that one.

If a procedure I call is not defined in the module, then the compiler should look outside the module, that way it would find the usual PB commands.

In case I know I want to call a procedure outside the module that has the same name of one in the module, I should have to specify the target module name in the call or the default "implicit" one using only the special chars "::".

Am I missing something ?
Last edited by luis on Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:00 pm, edited 3 times in total.
"Have you tried turning it off and on again ?"
A little PureBasic review
User_Russian
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1443
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:01 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by User_Russian »

Maybe better to do so?

Code: Select all

Module GUI Extends Wind ; Inheritance module Wind.

Public ; Exported from the module.

   Pos.POINT

   Procedure OpenWindow(..)
   EndProcedure
   
Private ; No exported from the module.

   Structure MyStruct
     x.l
   EndStructure

   Win.RECT

   Procedure WindowParam(..)
   EndProcedure
   
EndModule


x.MyStruct ; Error - Private Structure.

OpenModule GUI

  Pos\x=0 ; OK.

  OpenWindow(..) ; OK
  
  Win\left = 4 ; Error - Private Structure
  
  WindowParam(..) ; Error - Private Procedure.
  
  x.MyStruct ; Error - Private Structure.

CloseModule
Should support nested calls modules.

Code: Select all

Module GUI

   Procedure OpenWindow(..)
   EndProcedure

EndModule
   
Module Event

   Procedure EventWindow(..)
   EndProcedure

EndModule


OpenModule GUI
  
  OpenWindow(..)

  OpenModule Event

     EventWindow(..)

  CloseModule ; Close Event (default)

CloseModule

Code: Select all

OpenModule GUI
  
  OpenWindow(..)

  OpenModule Event

     EventWindow(..)

  CloseModule GUI

CloseModule Event
User avatar
Danilo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Danilo »

Fred wrote:It will raise an error if your command name clash (like an user lib), so you will have to use the module prefix.
Thanks!

Sounds OK, except that "Using Module Danilo" or just "Using Danilo" would be easier to use for end users (that use my inckude)
than "OpenModule Danilo" / "CloseMdule" combination.

Code: Select all

Module Danilo
   Procedure New_Window(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule

win1 = Danilo_New_Window(...)

OpenModule Danilo

    win2 = New_Window(...)

CloseModule

Code: Select all

Module Danilo
   Procedure New_Window(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule

win1 = Danilo_New_Window(...)


Using Module Danilo
; Using Danilo ; alternatively

win2 = New_Window(...)
Generally speaking it is just someting like With/EndWith?
Last edited by Danilo on Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
luis
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3876
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by luis »

Danilo wrote: Sounds OK
Are you sure ? Don't you see a problem with that ?
http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 30#p403130
"Have you tried turning it off and on again ?"
A little PureBasic review
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16617
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Fred »

You don't have to close it, it's not mandatory. It can be useful to be able to unregister a module after use, so that's why it's here.
User avatar
Danilo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:26 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by Danilo »

luis wrote:
Danilo wrote: Sounds OK
Are you sure ? Don't you see a problem with that ?
http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 30#p403130
It's better than nothing! ;)

Code: Select all

Module DirectX
   Procedure New_OpenScreen(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule

Module OpenGL
   Procedure New_OpenScreen(..)
   EndProcedure
EndModule


OpenModule DirectX ; change to OpenGL to use another implementation

    scr = New_OpenScreen(...)

CloseModule
(Same could be done with changing 'XIncludeFile "DirectX.pbi"' to 'XIncludeFile "OpenGL.pbi"')
User avatar
ts-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5756
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Classes in PureBasic

Post by ts-soft »

I miss a feature to protect a function in module. Protected functions only available inside the module block.
PureBasic 5.73 | SpiderBasic 2.30 | Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Linux Mint 20.1 (x64)
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.
Image
Post Reply