It is currently Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:10 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:29 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 162
Location: Germany
gnozal wrote:
Dummy wrote:
1. I download "LibraryUpdater.zip" linked in your first post
2. I extrect it into a new folder called "LibraryUpdater"
3. I doubleclick on the LibraryUpdater.exe
4. Nothing happens - no window no application - no error - simply nothing
You don't see any window ? Just tested on XP sp2 : no problem here.

Note that nothing happens until you press the 'On line check' button.
Also note that PB4.1x libs are not handled yet (until I know wich library needs a specific version).

No window at all.

It worked once some time ago. But suddenly it stopped working without any visible reason.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:56 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 162
Location: Germany
Dummy wrote:
No window at all.

It worked once some time ago. But suddenly it stopped working without any visible reason.

You have an Bufferoverflow somewhere in your application! This might be an major security risk AND your application won't launch on systems that have the Data Execution Prevention (introduced in Windows XP SP2) active.

If you use a spectial method to cipher or compress your your executable and inject the executable code it into another process please make shure to allocate the memory you write the data into with the #PAGE_EXECUTE flag.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:58 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Dummy wrote:
You have an Bufferoverflow somewhere in your application! This might be an major security risk AND your application won't launch on systems that have the Data Execution Prevention (introduced in Windows XP SP2) active.
Thanks. I will have a look.
Dummy wrote:
If you use a spectial method to cipher or compress your your executable and inject the executable code it into another process please make shure to allocate the memory you write the data into with the #PAGE_EXECUTE flag.
Not really, standard compressor plus CRC check IIRC. Maybe it's the compressor. I will test with latest UPX version.
Could you test this WIP : http://freenet-homepage.de/gnozal/LibraryUpdater.zip ?

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:47 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:10 am
Posts: 162
Location: Germany
gnozal wrote:
Dummy wrote:
You have an Bufferoverflow somewhere in your application! This might be an major security risk AND your application won't launch on systems that have the Data Execution Prevention (introduced in Windows XP SP2) active.
Thanks. I will have a look.
Dummy wrote:
If you use a spectial method to cipher or compress your your executable and inject the executable code it into another process please make shure to allocate the memory you write the data into with the #PAGE_EXECUTE flag.
Not really, standard compressor plus CRC check IIRC. Maybe it's the compressor. I will test with latest UPX version.
Could you test this WIP : http://freenet-homepage.de/gnozal/LibraryUpdater.zip ?

This one works!

Thanks for the fast help!

I'm a little curious... did the packer, the crc-check or a real buffer over-/underflow cause the DEP to stop the executable from working?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:06 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Dummy wrote:
This one works!
Thanks for the fast help!
I'm a little curious... did the packer, the crc-check or a real buffer over-/underflow cause the DEP to stop the executable from working?
I just changed the packer (it was UPX 3.00/LZMA iirc), now it is PE-Compact (LZMA too).
And some code to handle the future PB4.1x libs. CRC check is the same.
So I don't know exactly what helped ...

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:06 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:27 pm
Posts: 183
Location: Kent, UK
Hi,

Would it be possible to add manual proxy settings to the update tool.
Since updating my PC at work to XP pro SP2 from SP1 then tool does not connect to the internet through our ISA server.

The settings are the same, the only change is the upgrade to SP2. The windows firewall is disabled so its not a problem with that.

The registry internet connection settings are identical to those on a PC running SP1.

_________________
Regards

Andy

Image
Registered PB & PureVision User


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:49 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Ajm wrote:
Would it be possible to add manual proxy settings to the update tool.
Since updating my PC at work to XP pro SP2 from SP1 then tool does not connect to the internet through our ISA server.

Do you use the setting 'Use registry configuration' ?

With this setting it uses InternetOpen_() with #INTERNET_OPEN_TYPE_PRECONFIG.
It's the only solution that works for me at work ; I am also behind a corporate firewall / proxy (MS ISA server) and none of the codes I found on the forum with manual proxy settings ever worked for me, probably because of an authentication problem (NTLM stuff ??).
The new PB4.20 HTTP library doesn't work either.

The code I use looks like this :
Code:
InitNetwork()
Url$ = "http://freenet-homepage.de/gnozal/PureFORM.zip"
;
; ///////////////////
Port = 80
Login.s = ""
Password.s = ""
; ////////////////////
;
hInet = InternetOpen_("MyTest/1.0",0,0,0,0) ; #INTERNET_OPEN_TYPE_PRECONFIG = 0 ; use registry configuration
If hInet
  hURL  = InternetOpenUrl_(hInet,Url$,0,0,$80000000,0) ; #INTERNET_FLAG_RELOAD = $80000000
  If hURL
    Domain$  = StringField(Url$,3,"/")
    hInetCon = InternetConnect_(hInet,Domain$,Port,Login,Password,3,0,0) ; 3 = HTTP
    If hInetCon
      hHttpOpenRequest = HttpOpenRequest_(hInetCon,"HEAD",ReplaceString(Url$,"http://"+Domain$+"/",""),#Null,#Null,0,$80000000,0)
      If hHttpOpenRequest
        iretval = HttpSendRequest_(hHttpOpenRequest,#Null,0,0,0)
        If iretval
          BufferLength = 2048 : Buffer$ = Space(BufferLength)
          HttpQueryInfo_(hHttpOpenRequest,19,@Buffer$,@BufferLength,0)
          String$ = PeekS(@Buffer$,BufferLength)
          String$ = Trim(String$)
          If String$ = "200"
            BufferLength = 2048 : Buffer$ = Space(BufferLength)
            HttpQueryInfo_(hHttpOpenRequest,22,@Buffer$,@BufferLength,0)
            String$ = PeekS(@Buffer$,BufferLength)
            MessageRequester("API", String$) ; <------ if it works, you should see a message requester
          EndIf
        EndIf
      EndIf
      InternetCloseHandle_(hInetCon)
    EndIf
    InternetCloseHandle_(hURL)
  EndIf
  InternetCloseHandle_(hInet)
EndIf

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:57 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:27 pm
Posts: 183
Location: Kent, UK
Hi gnozal,

I have just tried the above code and run it through the debugger.
It pauses for a while at the following line then ends.

iretval = HttpSendRequest_(hHttpOpenRequest,#Null,0,0,0)
iretval returned is 0

_________________
Regards

Andy

Image
Registered PB & PureVision User


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:47 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Ajm wrote:
Hi gnozal,
I have just tried the above code and run it through the debugger.
It pauses for a while at the following line then ends.
iretval = HttpSendRequest_(hHttpOpenRequest,#Null,0,0,0)
iretval returned is 0
I am sorry I can't help here.
I had an analog problem when they changed proxy/firewall settings here (MS update ?), but it resolved spontaneously (after another MS update ?).

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 4:32 pm 
Offline
User
User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:24 am
Posts: 15
Location: Lyon (France)
Hi gnozal,

I would like to use your updater to follow your updates and
when I launch LibraryUpdater.exe I got this error window:

Code:
Cannot load Source code!
C:\Documents and Settings\dbn\Mes documents\download\LibraryUpdater\%1


I press a lot of OK and then I have the tool open.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:30 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Update (hotfix)

Changes :
- updated old PB folder and PB version detection code (should fix didier69's problem)
- updated library information

Note : just a quick fix, the tool will be updated for PB4.20 final.

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:05 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Update

Changes :
- updated library information for PB4.20

[EDIT JUN 5th 2008]Updated again : fixed a stupid mistake ...

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:46 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:44 pm
Posts: 5739
Location: Berlin - Germany
thx :D

you should update the "LibraryUpdater.ini" at start, i have load it twice :wink:

_________________
PureBasic 5.70 | SpiderBasic 2.10 | Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Linux Mint 19.0 (x64)
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:15 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Update

Changes :
- some fixes
- updated for PB4.30

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:49 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:27 am
Posts: 4229
Location: Strasbourg / France
Update

Changes :
- updated for PB4.40

_________________
For free libraries and tools, visit my web site (also home of jaPBe V3 and PureFORM).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye