PureBasic Forum
https://www.purebasic.fr/english/

5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
https://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=59715
Page 1 of 2

Author:  NicTheQuick [ Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:12 am ]
Post subject:  5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Hi there,

small example: If I type 'struc' into the IDE, wait for the autocomplete window (some milliseconds to 1 second delay) and then press TAB, I got 'Structure'. That's good. But if I press TAB before the autocomplete window appears I got "struc<TAB>Structure". That is really annoying, because it happens very often to me.

Sometimes while programming the autocomplete window is only a gray box, so I can not see what really is there. But if I press TAB the word will be completed. I don't know when this happens, but mostly it will remain gray every time after the first time this error happens. If I am lucky I got it to work again without restarting the IDE, but I don't know how...

I am running Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 with Gnome 13.10.4

Author:  uwekel [ Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

I can confirm the gray drop down menu on Fedora 20 32-bit.

Author:  Zebuddi123 [ Wed Jun 25, 2014 10:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Confirmed on mint 17 x64

Zebuddi :)

Author:  NicTheQuick [ Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Has anyone an idea how to force this issue? I think it would help Fred an freak to solve this error.

Author:  uwekel [ Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

This code does not show exactly the problem described above, but the code completion drop down window does not open at all, what is a bug, too.

Code:
Structure DlgButton
  Window.i
EndStructure

Structure Dlg
  Window.i
  Parent.i
EndStructure

Global Dlg.Dlg

;when pressing the backslash, the code completion window does NOT open
Dlg\

;if you comment out the first structure above, it works

Author:  Zebuddi123 [ Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray: to dupli

For me i wanted to type
Code:
If ReadFile(
but i hit the tab button on Read that was displayed in the (auto complete box) as this now advanced the cursor 1 character i pressed backspace. The (auto complete box) opened greyed out and i am now having trouble getting it to display anything.

Even if i backspace delete each character to the
Code:
If
the (auto complete box) is still greyed out all the way through the deletions.

Can someone else try see if this is reproducble

1. type
Code:
If read

2. on the (auto complete box) opening displaying
Code:
Read
press the tab key to auto complete.
3. press backspace key
4. auto complete box should open up greyed out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0FJayCL3Hg&feature=youtu.be

Zebuddi. :)

Author:  uwekel [ Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray: to dupli

Zebuddi123 wrote:
Can someone else try see if this is reproducble

Cannot confirm, it's working on my system.

Author:  NicTheQuick [ Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Here you can see the first bug in my first post in action: Purebasic Autocomplete Bug

Author:  NicTheQuick [ Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray: to dupli

Zebuddi123 wrote:

Your video is listed als private. Nobody can see it. ;)

Author:  Zebuddi123 [ Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [5.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Hope it`s sorted now FB too confusing :shock: :twisted:

Zebuddi. :)

Author:  NicTheQuick [ Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [5.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

I hope this bug will be fixed before the final comes out. Because this way it is impossible to use the IDE for programming.

Author:  Fred [ Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [5.30b7] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Fixed.

Author:  Azur [ Fri May 19, 2017 10:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [Done] 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

Hello, the bug still exists on Debian8 Gnome and Mint cinnamon with 5.60.

Author:  macros [ Mon May 22, 2017 3:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Done] 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

I can confirm the problem still exists (Kubuntu 16.04 as well as 17.04)
(Autocomplete gray bug, other things work, its not slow, nor do I get code pieces)
Example image: Image

Problem is, its a heisenbug. Sometimes it works.
Observations I made:
- it occurs more often in long codes
- it occurs significantly more often on a slow PC (low spec laptop)
- it occurs more often when I set KDEs option "focus stealing prevention" to high.
- a restart of the IDE fixes it for a random time.
And its incredibly annoying when it happens ;)

Author:  Kiffi [ Mon May 22, 2017 11:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [Done] 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray

same here: Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon 3.2.7 64-bit

Greetings ... Peter

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/