It is currently Mon Jan 18, 2021 5:33 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 8:18 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 9:18 pm
Posts: 1488
Location: North by Northwest
Kiffi wrote:
fsw wrote:
Fred wrote:
My MacBookAir mid-2012 doesn't support Big Sur, so I can't investigate for now. Will try to find a way to.
One way is to buy a new MacBook Air with M1 :P
Send me money and I will give it a try. :P

I tried to send you money, but couldn't find the bank routing number for Amphibios 9.
:mrgreen:

_________________

I am to provide the public with beneficial shocks.
Alfred Hitshock


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 2:24 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 5:19 pm
Posts: 27
Hello gang.
Got my Mac mini with Apple silicone.
PB runs on it but got crash only while closing(exit from the program) compiler.
Do not check it too deep, but saw differences with High Sierra, my program has black font while running it on High Sierra, but with BigSure I got white font...
So, will check it more.

Best Wishes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:13 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 9:18 pm
Posts: 1488
Location: North by Northwest
dibor wrote:
Hello gang.
Got my Mac mini with Apple silicone.
PB runs on it but got crash only while closing(exit from the program) compiler.
Do not check it too deep, but saw differences with High Sierra, my program has black font while running it on High Sierra, but with BigSure I got white font...
So, will check it more.

Best Wishes.

Hello dibor,
Thank you for the update.

The crash while closing is a known bug on Big Sur, even on Intel machines.

Can you compile apps and do the compiled apps run?
How about the speed of compilation?

_________________

I am to provide the public with beneficial shocks.
Alfred Hitshock


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:50 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 5:19 pm
Posts: 27
Hi.
I have small program abt 1500 lines yet, compiling time is less then 1 sec.
I able to compile and run application. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:31 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 5:19 pm
Posts: 27
dibor wrote:
...my program has black font while running it on High Sierra, but with BigSure I got white font...

This is because dark appearance in the system was chosen.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:15 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Posts: 1807
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
@dibor,

I was pleased to see that you had got PureBasic working on you M1 Mac Mini.
I am considering upgrading to the MacBook Pro M1, and then installing PureBasic.
Are there any pitfalls in the installation that I would need to look out for?

_________________
DE AA EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2021 11:10 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 5:19 pm
Posts: 27
Hi davido
Yes, PureBasic working on you M1 Mac mini.
Do not get any issues under installation.
Only one known bag - crash on exit.
I do not tested too deep because corona hitting me little bit, but now is more better and I am back for playing again with PureBasic.

Best Wishes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 2:40 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Posts: 1807
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
Hi dibor,

First, I am sorry to learn that you have picked up this horrible virus. I hope you recover quickly and completely.

I have PureBasic 5.73 working with Xcode 12.3. Most programs seem to work faster than they did on my old MacBook Pro. :o

I still have another problem and I am trying to determine whether I have caused it in some obscure way or it is a problem with the IDE.

When I tried to amend some lines of code I ran into a problem which effectively makes the IDE unusable: Any keyboard character that also has a command key mod always assumes that the command key is pressed. So 'o' or 'O' is the same as Command_o.

Have you noticed this problem, or possibly any idea how to cure it?

_________________
DE AA EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:46 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 5:19 pm
Posts: 27
Hi.
Not sure that I understood your problem with some keyboard character.
If U talking abt command button plus 'o' character, that Open command, what wrong with it?
I do not use Mac keyboard, so i do not have any issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 8:05 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Posts: 1807
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
HI,

Thank you for replying.
I am sorry if I did not make myself clear.
If I press to 'o' key by itself if causes the open dialog to display instead of the expected text.

I am intrigued by your comment that you don't use a Mac keyboard: what do you use?

_________________
DE AA EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 9:30 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 5:19 pm
Posts: 27
Hi davido.
English is not my native language, so sometimes I do not understand right.
Because I am Windoz user, so my keyboard also from my old PC, G512 by Logitech.
So command key is remapped to Ctrl key.

Best Wishes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:22 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Posts: 1807
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
HI dibor,
Thank you for all your help. :D

_________________
DE AA EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 11:10 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Posts: 1807
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
@dibor,
I thought that somewhere in your replies there was a clue how I might solve my problem.
So, I looked carefully and eventually found it!
Like you I just changed all my shortcuts to use the control-key!

Thank you. :D :D

_________________
DE AA EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Big Sur and PureBasic
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2021 3:12 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 pm
Posts: 1807
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
I’ve been carrying out some ‘tests’ since installing PureBasic 5.73LTS.
So far although I have noted a few problems it works satisfactorily for me.

Caveat: I will outline the problems which may not be acceptable to most other users!

1. It needs to be installed with the security temporarily reduced.
2. The IDE does not exit cleanly: always. @mk-soft has kindly squashed this bug.
3. Initially some text could not be entered. Each character was the same as character + command. Ie ‘O’ invoked the ‘Open dialog’ rather than the text character. @dibor suggested mapping Command to Control: Then it worked!
4. Although code could be compiled and run in the IDE, compiling to an app produced the following text in a dialog:

ld: warning: object file (Window.a(AddWindowTimer.0)) was built for newer macOS version (10.8 ) than being linked (10.7)
ld: warning: object file (String.a(Bin.o))


5. Sound does not work on either machine due to changes in BigSur. :)

6. In general code runs about the same speed (often faster) as my 2016 MacBook i7. This, I found odd as it is not running natively. Some code to count bits set in an integer variable is, I hope, a good example. It is taken from the Forum thread below.


https://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtopic.php?p=465067#p465067

I ran this code on both Intel and M1 MacBooks Pro:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro12,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 4 MB
Hyper-Threading Technology: Enabled
Memory: 8 GB
System Firmware Version: 425.0.0.0.0


—————————————————————————————————————
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro17,1
Chip: Apple M1
Total Number of Cores: 8 (4 performance and 4 efficiency)
Memory: 8 GB
System Firmware Version:6723.6


I decided to include my own code that I had been using as it shows how much better code is available!

i7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . M1 . . . . . . . . . . Type
—————————————————————————————————————————————————
t0 = 29 (12%) ....... t0 = 28 (11%) ...... (Intel)
t1 = 236 (100%) ..... t1 = 244 (100%) .... (wilbert)
t2 = 266 (112%) ..... t2 = 220 (90%) ..... (luis)
t3 = 650 (275%) ..... t3 = 227 (93%) .... (luis2)
t4 = 1183 (501%) ..... t4 = 1250 (512%) .. (Little John)
t5 = 1636 (693%) ..... t5 = 1918 (786%) .. (Trond)
t6 = 964 (408%) ..... t6 = 1117 (457%) .. (Trond2)
t7 = 42 (17%) ........ t7 = 35 (14%) .... (idle)
t8 = 170 (72%) ....... t8 = 121 (49%) .... (said version of trond unrolled)
t9 = 104 (44%) ....... t9 = 84 (34%) .... (idle-PB)
ta = 1801 (763%) ..... ta = 1639 (671%) . (davido)
tb = 48 (20%) ........ tb = 33 (13%) ... (idle-64bit)


——————————————————————————————————————

_________________
DE AA EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye