It is currently Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:20 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 3:22 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:55 pm
Posts: 85
Just an idea!

As the langauge and ide becomes more pro, why not a brand new name with it?
Maybe for version 6?

Probasic 6

It was pure, now its pro ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 3:40 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:16 pm
Posts: 1482
:lol: That would ruin all marketing, links, reviews, customer recognition, brand awareness, and so on. Basically, it'd make PureBasic dead and nobody would use ProBasic because it's a "new" language. Not gonna happen.

_________________
Microsoft Visual Basic only lasted 7 short years: 1991 to 1998.
PureBasic: Born in 1998 and still going strong to this very day!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Posts: 3698
Location: Italy
I would call it Assurbanipal or Nabucodonosor.

_________________
[ My little PureBasic review ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:34 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:51 pm
Posts: 3767
Location: Utah, USA
I would call it Pabasical or Superb.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:44 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 1800
Location: Pas-de-Calais, France
PureBasic already means Professionals Understimates Real Efficiency of the Beginner's All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:37 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:00 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Llangadog, Wales, UK
djes wrote:
PureBasic already means Professionals Understimates Real Efficiency of the Beginner's All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code
Magnifique! :lol:

_________________
www.deeproot.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:53 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:44 pm
Posts: 5756
Location: Berlin - Germany
I would call it: Back2Basic Pro :mrgreen:

_________________
PureBasic 5.71 | SpiderBasic 2.30 | Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Linux Mint 19.3 (x64)
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:08 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Bullfrog
PureBasic Bullfrog
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 8149
Location: Fort Nelson, BC, Canada
I don't know, I think MaestroBasic has a nice ring to it somehow, perhaps with something like a 3D bullfrog logo... :mrgreen:

_________________
BERISHEET


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:04 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:57 am
Posts: 944
Location: United States
Ribbit :mrgreen:

_________________
▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:47 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 2:58 pm
Posts: 213
Looking at my favorite christmas gift, I would prefer an update for PB on ARM Processors and than call it Pi Basic :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

_________________
Give Up everything but trying!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:35 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:32 am
Posts: 167
djes wrote:
PureBasic already means Professionals Understimates Real Efficiency of the Beginner's All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code



The acronym is cute and I like it. Only small error is in it. The verb (Underestimate) must be without ending "s", because subject (Proffesionals) is plural. Maybe a typo. :?

_________________
Windows 7 Professional / Service Pack 1 - 32bit, PureBasic 5.46 LTS (x86)
My mother tongue is Czech. I have a Czech version of Windows.
Who is not afraid of GOTO, the one need not afraid any things!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:28 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 9:18 pm
Posts: 1488
Location: North by Northwest
What about ProBeer :?:
Tons of German speaking programmers would at least "try" out this language...

I suppose that DoctorLove wanted to make the point that PureBasic passed all other BASIC's in functionality and versatility.

At this point in time it's the last BASIC-like language I frequently use (all the other ones have C-stle syntax...)

_________________

I am to provide the public with beneficial shocks.
Alfred Hitshock


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:47 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 2970
Location: Where ya would never look.....
not at the Pro stage yet...

_________________
The advantage of a 64 bit operating system over a 32 bit operating system comes down to only being twice the headache.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:46 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 2:11 pm
Posts: 672
SFSxOI wrote:
not at the Pro stage yet...

I don't think so.
But at least it's always provisional.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Rename "purebasic" to "probasic"
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:06 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 11:56 am
Posts: 442
Location: Vienna - Austria
Awesome idea! And then let's continue changing Fred's name. What about Prod? Instructions would come next: ProEach, ProEver, ProIf, ...
:-)

_________________
Go, tell it on the mountains.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye