It is currently Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:14 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:24 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 6:53 pm
Posts: 1268
Location: England
DarkDragon wrote:
Didn't you hear about facebook fanpage problems, yet?

Kuron wrote:
After reading that, I will be refusing all orders from the EU and I will block EU IPs. Truly seems to be the ONLY solution that is guaranteed to be FULLY compliant.


Thank goodness the UK is escaping from those mad EU bugg3r5! :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:53 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 1330
Location: Nashville
the.weavster wrote:
Thank goodness the UK is escaping from those mad EU bugg3r5! :twisted:


That won't save you. The UK itself has passed (or is passing) similar legislation.

Here in the states, California has passed a similar law, so many American companies will have no choice but to also block California IPs and stop doing business with Californians.

_________________
I am legally blind. Please forgive any typos. I do try and catch as many as I can.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:50 pm 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:06 pm
Posts: 96
Location: NL
Not that I care... but this is completely bonkers and the first time I see blocking because of some common law in practice. Mimicking a site failure because of a law which makes a whole continent think your company is gone... Not that there's much life left in PowB, but well... this certainly is another nail in the coff ;) Couldn't even be bothered to setup an explanation page? Anyway, if you sell software you delegate it frequently to one of the big boys. 2 Checkout, Share-it (ugh), FastSpring, etc. They manage the whole GDPR-thing.

Anyway, the biggest offenders are still left alone, even with this so called protect-your-privacy-law: Facebook and Google.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:31 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 1330
Location: Nashville
I love PowerB and have used it since the beginning and I really like the current owner. That said, I would no longer recommend it to anybody.

I am looking forward to the resurrection of AMOS. Otherwise, most indie languages are hovering near death due to dwindled communities.

_________________
I am legally blind. Please forgive any typos. I do try and catch as many as I can.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:20 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 1330
Location: Nashville
It has really been bizarre over there. Well over a month ago, their forum host made some kind of tweak that made the forum completely unreadable and unusable by me. The forum page is all greyed over and I can't click on anything. Others seem to be able to post okay as you can make out new posts listed, but I can't read any posts because you can't click on anything or even log in. This is what I see and nothing anywhere is clickable. I am not banned, or anything like that. Sucks, because I had a project underway for years that was finally nearing completion, but now I am going to have to rewrite it in a different language that actually has functional support.

Using a third-party forum host is good, in theory, but not when their screwups cost you customers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:50 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 1007
Location: right here
Kuron wrote:
It has really been bizarre over there. Well over a month ago, their forum host made some kind of tweak that made the forum completely unreadable and unusable by me. The forum page is all greyed over and I can't click on anything. Others seem to be able to post okay as you can make out new posts listed, but I can't read any posts because you can't click on anything or even log in. This is what I see and nothing anywhere is clickable. I am not banned, or anything like that. Sucks, because I had a project underway for years that was finally nearing completion, but now I am going to have to rewrite it in a different language that actually has functional support.

Using a third-party forum host is good, in theory, but not when their screwups cost you customers.


There is a privacy policy agreement popup showing up centered on top of the gray modal layer here. Maybe try another browser or disable add-ons. At least to access the forum to tell them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 10:43 am 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:22 am
Posts: 56
Location: Cotswolds England
In some cases you can access sites blocked due to compliance with GDPR using TOR.

GDPR is ill thought out and impractical, causing pointless issues for small not for profit clubs and self help groups.

_________________
If it's falling over......just remember the computer is never wrong!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 8:26 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 9:36 am
Posts: 445
with Win 8.0 and with FireFox's NoScript enabled
i can access eveything on PowerBasic Forums !


Image

with NoScript not blocking PowerBasic Forum i'm getting this Pic :

Image

_________________
 
PureBasic .... making tiny electrons do what you want !

"With every mistake we must surely be learning" - George Harrison


Last edited by VB6_to_PBx on Wed May 15, 2019 5:56 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 7:27 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 1330
Location: Nashville
I okayed the dialog back when it first appeared and things were fine for a bit after that. Now, it is greyed out, no matter what browser (Firefox/Edge/IE) I use and even with addons all disabled, tried deleting cookies, etc.

Weird, because the forum host made an update that shifted the alignment of some of the forum text so it was overlapping in an area it wasn't supposed to. After a week or so, they fixed that and then a couple of days later, it went to being greyed out.

_________________
I am legally blind. Please forgive any typos. I do try and catch as many as I can.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PowerBasic Kaput?
PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:25 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 1330
Location: Nashville
The issue resolved itself and is now working normally.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye