Render to image/sprite?

Advanced game related topics
Poshu
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Canada

Render to image/sprite?

Post by Poshu »

Hello, while toying with the new sprite functions (such an improvement over the previous ones! GG to the team!), I feel that a way to render to an image or, even better, a sprite is missing. Is there any (fast?) solution?
Lebostein
Addict
Addict
Posts: 807
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:07 am

Re: Render to image/sprite?

Post by Lebostein »

No, this functionality was removed with PB 5.20. So far you could use the command UseBuffer(). A very powerful and useful command.

I do not understand why there is no alternative for it! :(
User avatar
fsw
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1572
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 9:18 pm
Location: North by Northwest

Re: Render to image/sprite?

Post by fsw »

Browsing the help I found this:

Code: Select all

  StartDrawing(SpriteOutput(#Sprite))
    ; do some drawing stuff here...
  StopDrawing()
Isn't this what you need to draw on sprites?

Therefore there is an alternative...

I am to provide the public with beneficial shocks.
Alfred Hitshock
User avatar
Fig
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: Côtes d'Azur, France

Re: Render to image/sprite?

Post by Fig »

We can draw but previously, it was possible to display sprites directly on an other sprite. It's not possible anymore, i think, because sprite in pb are all "3d sprite" now.
There are 2 methods to program bugless.
But only the third works fine.

Win10, Pb x64 5.71 LTS
PMV
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:15 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Render to image/sprite?

Post by PMV »

UseBuffer() was only supported on spritelib with DirectX7. As of
DirectX9 subsystem and later the default one, UserBuffer() never
worked with that and so Fred has decided to remove the command
completely.

Btw. yes, it was a really nice feature.

MFG PMV
Poshu
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Render to image/sprite?

Post by Poshu »

fsw wrote:Browsing the help I found this:

Code: Select all

  StartDrawing(SpriteOutput(#Sprite))
    ; do some drawing stuff here...
  StopDrawing()
Isn't this what you need to draw on sprites?

Therefore there is an alternative...
cpu drawing isn't an alternative.
Post Reply