2D tile game question

Advanced game related topics
UUICEO
User
User

2D tile game question

Post by UUICEO »

I'm totally new to the graphics end of programming and I have a question regarding layering of tiles and how it works exactly. I'm going to be having sprites going inside of buildings and under bridges but I'm not sure how to layer the tiles to be able to do that. I searched the forum for layering tiles but didn't come up with much. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 / PureBasic 5.21 LTS / ProGUI Platinum / PureVision / http://www.linkedin.com/groups/PureBasi ... =&trk=tyah
J. Baker
Addict
Addict

Re: 2D tile game question

Post by J. Baker »

Read all of this topic. There is a layer example. ;)

http://forum.purebasic.com/english/view ... a1985763d3
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT

Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.
citystate
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by citystate »

basically it comes down to the order you display the sprites to the screen - later sprites would appear to be on top of earlier sprites.

so, for a three layer display:
1) display all your background sprites
2) display all the character/object/wall sprites
3) display all the "overhead" sprites

should do the trick
there is no sig, only zuul (and the following disclaimer)

WARNING: may be talking out of his hat
UUICEO
User
User

Post by UUICEO »

I thank you for the info. I'm not completely understanding how this works but I will figure it out.
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 / PureBasic 5.21 LTS / ProGUI Platinum / PureVision / http://www.linkedin.com/groups/PureBasi ... =&trk=tyah
Zach
Addict
Addict

Post by Zach »

UUICEO wrote:I thank you for the info. I'm not completely understanding how this works but I will figure it out.