It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:27 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:13 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:33 pm
Posts: 9
Hi,

I am having some trouble getting my meshes to load using the 3D engine, I have managed to load meshes that come with Purebasic so I know it's not a coding issue.

I am using 3D MAX to create the models and Ogremax to export them to .mesh but I think I may need an older version due to the engine version used in Purebasic.

Anyone know what or where I can download the correct version or if there are any other tools people use that works?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:10 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1990
Location: USA
http://chumbalum.swissquake.ch/ ;)

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:12 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:33 pm
Posts: 9
Hi J.Baker,

Thanks for your reply, however is doesn't really help me as I am already using 3D MAX to create my models and not interested in spending the time learning a new modelling tool.

Has anyone had any luck with exporting .3ds to .mesh?

EDITED: What is the latest version of Purebasic I am using 4.51 and where can I find the version of Ogre3D it's using? It might be the fact i'm exporting meshes to Orge3D 1.7 and Purebasic 4.51 don't support 1.7.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:34 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Posts: 5820
Location: Wales, UK
Have not used it but I believe the tool 3ds2mesh is old, and therefore may well support the Mesh version that PB supports:

http://david.geldreich.free.fr/dev.html

_________________
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:49 pm 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Posts: 5820
Location: Wales, UK
...DeleD can import 3DS and Export Ogre Mesh via it's (free) plugins

http://www.delgine.com/

_________________
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:08 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:15 pm
Posts: 728
Location: Germany
OneHitWonder wrote:
Hi,

I am having some trouble getting my meshes to load using the 3D engine, I have managed to load meshes that come with Purebasic so I know it's not a coding issue.

I am using 3D MAX to create the models and Ogremax to export them to .mesh but I think I may need an older version due to the engine version used in Purebasic.

Anyone know what or where I can download the correct version or if there are any other tools people use that works?

Thank you.

You could ask the support of OGREMax, if they can send you an old version. :)
OGRE creates a OGRE.log-File in your program directory. This file
contains the used version. PB4.51 uses OGRE3D 1.6.2

If you need the correct commandlinetool "OgreXMLConveter", this tool
is always included in the SDKs of OGRE3D, so you can load the whole
SDK 1.6.2 to get the right converter. Only a hind for people who need it.

MFG PMV


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 1785
Location: Pas-de-Calais, France
I don't understand what is the point :/ http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/OGRE+Exporters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:07 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:33 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks everyone for your help.

djes wrote:
I don't understand what is the point :/ http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/OGRE+Exporters


What is the point in what? The exporters in the list you provided do not support the version of Ogre3D in Purebasic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:00 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 1785
Location: Pas-de-Calais, France
OneHitWonder wrote:
Thanks everyone for your help.

djes wrote:
I don't understand what is the point :/ http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/OGRE+Exporters


What is the point in what? The exporters in the list you provided do not support the version of Ogre3D in Purebasic.

Oh sorry, I don't intend to be offensive. I thought 3ds max was the best supported modeler in Ogre. Here is some topics on the ogre forums :
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=37974
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=51090

More generally, to content creators : http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewforum.php?f=8

Ogre's site is a mess ; as always, better use the forum and google. If this ogre version isn't well supported, especially with 3ds, I'm sure Fred will update it for the final. Especially if it's only from 1.7.0 to 1.7.2 :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:25 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1990
Location: USA
OneHitWonder wrote:
Hi J.Baker,

Thanks for your reply, however is doesn't really help me as I am already using 3D MAX to create my models and not interested in spending the time learning a new modelling tool.


No problem but you wouldn't have to learn too much more then importing your work from 3D Max and then exporting to a mesh within Milkshape. I do all my modelling in Wings3D myself. Then animating and exporting from Milkshape. ;)

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Mesh Exporter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:07 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:33 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks everyone who posted here.

I have emailed support at Ogremax and they got back to me with a fix if anyone has any issues like this in the future.

[FIX]
1)Install OgreMax latest version.
2)Edit the OgreMaxSceneExporterGlobalSettings.xml file in the 3DS Max installation directory. Add <ogreVersion>1.6</ogreVersion> (or whatever Ogre3D version Purebasic uses). Just use a standard text editor for this.
3)The next time you run 3DS Max and export your data, meshes will be in appropriate format.
[/FIX]

Once again thanks for everyones help and quick responses.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye