It is currently Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:46 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:33 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
What version of OpenGL does PureBasic use for 2D?

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:21 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 13622
Location: France
The one which comes with your drivers. About the commands, it's 1.2 + some extensions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:31 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
Fred wrote:
The one which comes with your drivers. About the commands, it's 1.2 + some extensions.

Yes, the commands version is what I was looking for, thanks! ;)

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:41 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
Just curious, is one of the extensions to allow for png with alpha support? Or was this already supported by OpenGL? I noticed that DirectX 7 didn't support this.

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:52 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1252
DirectX7 do supports alpha channel of png. It just have to be a Sprite3D.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
Thorium wrote:
DirectX7 do supports alpha channel of png. It just have to be a Sprite3D.

Hmm, I think I had already known that but forgotten. Thanks Thorium! But I believe that leaves me with only images that are square, as opposed to 512x128 for instance. I will do some testing. ;)

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:28 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
Cool, odd sizes do work with Sprite3D, such as 512x128. Just as long as an older graphic card can support images up to 512 pixels.

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:01 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Posts: 6068
Just don't be too sure it will work everywhere, and if you start rotating things get worse rather quickly...

_________________
( PB5.xx Win10 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 1600X 32GB RAM Evo 840 GTX1060 )
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:44 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:16 am
Posts: 2092
Location: Germany
blueznl wrote:
Just don't be too sure it will work everywhere, and if you start rotating things get worse rather quickly...


Well once upon a time we've found out that PureBasic used NV_texture_rectangle.

_________________
bye,
Daniel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:51 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
blueznl wrote:
Just don't be too sure it will work everywhere, and if you start rotating things get worse rather quickly...

You are correct. An older card such as a Voodoo 3 will only support square textures at a max of 256x256 and 16bit screen. At least for the Sprite3D on my older pc. But some older cards are fine as long as the width and height is divisible by 2, 4, 8, ect. Such as 512x128, 64x256, ect.

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:06 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
After getting further development within my game, I'm noticing that OpenGL is much slower then DirectX 9. I'm guessing it's because of the out-dated version of OpenGL. Which is fine with old school style games, just like DirectX 7. But now I'm wondering how well will the game play on Linux and Mac, since they use OpenGL? I will be able to test it on Ubuntu soon but has anyone done a comparison test between Windows and Mac with OpenGL?

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:57 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
I believe I found the issue. If I use StartDrawing(ScreenOutput()) in OpenGL, the game runs super slow. But it doesn't effect DirectX. Should I post this in the bugs section?

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:30 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:16 am
Posts: 2092
Location: Germany
Pixelaccess is slow. PureBasic uses DirectDraw for such things in DirectX subsystem which speeds it up a bit, but its old and shouldn't ever be used anymore. You can't change this until you've learned how to use shaders.

_________________
bye,
Daniel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:17 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1998
Location: USA
DarkDragon wrote:
Pixelaccess is slow. PureBasic uses DirectDraw for such things in DirectX subsystem which speeds it up a bit, but its old and shouldn't ever be used anymore. You can't change this until you've learned how to use shaders.

Thanks DarkDragon. But I think I'll create some numerical sprites to display the text I'm wanting for now since I don't know much about shaders yet. ;)

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PureBasic OpenGL Version?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 5:16 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:28 pm
Posts: 701
Location: $300:20 58 FC 60 - Vietnam
Sorry to dig up this post, but I need to know if Purebasic still use OpenGL 1.2 because I tried with my old laptop (OpenGL 1.4) and the sprite system no longer works.
He could be useful to check the OpenGL version and to have a function for this or a warning from the compiler :)

_________________
“Fear is a reaction. Courage is a decision.” - WC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye