Page 1 of 1

Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:33 pm
by freak
I wrote a guide on how to get this working on Ubuntu 8.10 and OpenSUSE 11.1 64bit with some tips on how to get this to work on other distributions as well.

Read here:
http://www.purebasic.fr/blog/?p=113

If you have more questions, post here and i will try to help as much as possible.

Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:09 am
by DarkDragon
Nice! But I can't try it, because I'm using 32 bit Linux already :cry: .

Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 3:30 pm
by buzzqw
maybe i have installed more than due... but was a long processing in degugging (like missing crt1.0, libpng, libgio-2...)

BUT on my Fedora 10 64bit i was able to compile !!!! YESS!!!

this is the list of package installed

yum install libX11-devel.i386 gtk2-devel gtk2-devel.i386 SDL-devel SDL-devel.i386 libX11-devel libX11-devel.i386 glibc-devel glibc-devel.i386 glibc libpng libpng.i386 libpng-devel libpng-devel.i386 glib.i386 glib2.i386 glib2 glib2-devel glib2-devel.i386 glib2-static
yum reinstall gtk2-devel gtk2-devel.i386

don't ask way i had to reinstall gtk2.. but it solve the last problem (libgio)

EDIT: the debugger don't work...

thanks freak!!

BHH

Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 3:45 pm
by freak
> EDIT: the debugger don't work...

The console debugger or the GUI one ? Also, whats the error you get ?

Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:16 pm
by buzzqw
using standard ide debugger or "Standalone ide debugger" i got a simple "The debugger executable quit enexpectedly"

just compiling a messagerequester("","kk")

without debugger i have no prob

BHH

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:26 pm
by PBUser
Did you install the ia32-libs (Debian/Ubuntu)? Without that you cannot run 32-bit executables on a 64-bit OS.

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:09 pm
by Nexus100
Hi All

Just installed PB on UBuntu 32bit on my netbook.

Very new to linux so was a bit of a task but it almost works...however it crashes on the init3d() command...

I assume this is an OpenGL issue but I do not know what other package I need to install??

any help much appreciated!

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:39 am
by luis
Nexus100 wrote: Just installed PB on UBuntu 32bit on my netbook.
Hmm... this thread was about using PB x86 on Linux x64 so I don't see the connection.

Anyway try to look here -> http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 84#p436684 to verify the requirements.

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:02 am
by W4GNS
A tad late on your reply, aren't you. :D
luis wrote:
Nexus100 wrote: Just installed PB on UBuntu 32bit on my netbook.
Hmm... this thread was about using PB x86 on Linux x64 so I don't see the connection.

Anyway try to look here -> http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 84#p436684 to verify the requirements.

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:45 pm
by PureGuy
Any update on this tut?
I'm getting the 32bit IDE starting, but compiling is no go.

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:46 pm
by vwidmer
If you have all the libraries installed correctly try putting this in the top of your code and maybe will work. It works for me compiling 32bit on 64bit system

Code: Select all

ImportC "-m32" : EndImport
Hope it helps.

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2023 10:17 am
by Zeb
I'm running Manjaro here, no idea which version or even how to install on my OS so any help would be massively appreciated!

Re: Using PureBasic (32bit) on 64bit Linux

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2023 11:22 am
by mk-soft
I tested it under Manjaro with ARM. It should also work with Intel. (Do not install the PB Raspberry for Intel).
Simple Install of Purebasic ... Part 2