PureBasic 6.00 released !

Developed or developing a new product in PureBasic? Tell the world about it.
coffee
User
User
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:43 am

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by coffee »

Hi,

I tried the A 2 release and get an POLINK: fatal error: File not found: 'C:\Program.obj'

this happens for all may files that I try to compile - with or without debug.
Win10 current x64. I don't have Pelles C, but Visual Studio 2019 installed.
Any help possible?
User avatar
HeX0R
Addict
Addict
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Hell

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by HeX0R »

Little John wrote: Sat Jun 19, 2021 4:30 pm Thank you!
However, this is unnecessarily cumbersome.
There should be a built-in compiler option, which allows to choose between ASM backend and C backend.
Don't forget that it is still in alpha stage, but I second that, the installation should make both compilers available out of the box.
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by Little John »

Alpha stage is a good time to make suggestions for improvement, isn't it? :-)
User avatar
skinkairewalker
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 627
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:26 pm

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by skinkairewalker »

will support class libraries in C++?

I've been trying to use SteamWorks_SDK DLLs directly with PB for a while without having to create a procedural DLL in C++ so that I can use it in PB
akee
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:52 am
Location: Penang, Malaysia

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by akee »

Thanks Fred.
Axolotl
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:36 pm

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by Axolotl »

coffee wrote: Sun Jun 20, 2021 3:40 pm Hi,

I tried the A 2 release and get an POLINK: fatal error: File not found: 'C:\Program.obj'

this happens for all may files that I try to compile - with or without debug.
Win10 current x64. I don't have Pelles C, but Visual Studio 2019 installed.
Any help possible?
Same here with this sample...

Code: Select all

If OpenWindow(0, 0, 0, 300, 30, "Position of the mouse on the desktop", #PB_Window_SystemMenu | #PB_Window_ScreenCentered)
  TextGadget(0, 10, 6, 200, 20, "")
  AddWindowTimer(0, 0, 10) ; Timeout = 10 ms
  Repeat
    Event = WaitWindowEvent()
    If Event = #PB_Event_Timer 
      SetGadgetText(0, "Coordinates: " + Str(DesktopMouseX()) + "," + Str(DesktopMouseY()))  
    EndIf
  Until Event = #PB_Event_CloseWindow
EndIf
#1: Added directory of PB compilers to PATH does not help so far. (with double check and restart of PB-IDE)
#2: Issue is (seems to be) fixed viewtopic.php?f=43&t=77462
Mostly running PureBasic <latest stable version and current alpha/beta> (x64) on Windows 11 Home
User avatar
DoubleDutch
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3219
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 7:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by DoubleDutch »

This is already reported in bugs, I'm sure @fred has sorted it for alpha 3.
https://deluxepixel.com <- My Business website
https://reportcomplete.com <- School end of term reports system
spacebuddy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:42 am

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by spacebuddy »

I am getting this error in A 2 release

POLINK: fatal error: File not found: 'C:\Program.obj'

How to continue to test?
User avatar
mk-soft
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5333
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by mk-soft »

@spacebuddy

Link: viewtopic.php?p=571825#p571825

Please search forum
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.75 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace / OneDrive
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3972
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by skywalk »

Is PB v6 ASM really an alpha?
Or is it just the C compile option?
Curious how much risk going with v6 ASM output.
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
Fred
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 16616
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by Fred »

It should be as stable the 5.73 but common code has been modified, so don't use it in production (it doesn't bring anything new anyway).
User avatar
Saki
Addict
Addict
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:28 am
Location: Pandora

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by Saki »

A good friend told me that he can't compile his really huge source with the 6.00 ASM.
But I can not test it myself
地球上の平和
User avatar
jacdelad
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1431
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 12:46 pm
Location: Planet Riesa
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by jacdelad »

Tried to compile some programs, but none worked. Error is surely on my side and I will try to fix it myself.

However, the first lopost mentioned that labels don't work in data sections. I'm using a ton of files that I include in data sections and they obviously need labels to be addressed. Is there another method that works with the c backend?
PureBasic 6.04/XProfan X4a/Embarcadero RAD Studio 11/Perl 5.2/Python 3.10
Windows 11/Ryzen 5800X/32GB RAM/Radeon 7770 OC/3TB SSD/11TB HDD
Synology DS1821+/36GB RAM/130TB
Synology DS920+/20GB RAM/54TB
Synology DS916+ii/8GB RAM/12TB
User avatar
STARGÅTE
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2067
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:30 pm
Location: Germany, Glienicke
Contact:

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by STARGÅTE »

jacdelad wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 3:01 pm However, the first lopost mentioned that labels don't work in data sections. I'm using a ton of files that I include in data sections and they obviously need labels to be addressed. Is there another method that works with the c backend?
You missunderstand this limitation. It is also in the c-backend allowed to use labels in a DataSection, but you can not use it as a pointer in the data section.

Allowed:

Code: Select all

DataSection
	Label:
	Data.i 1, 2, 3
Not allowed:

Code: Select all

DataSection
	Marker1:
	Data.i 1,2, 3
	Marker2:
	Data.i 4, 5, 6
	Label:
	Data.i ?Marker1, ?Marker2 ; << not allowed in C	
PB 6.01 ― Win 10, 21H2 ― Ryzen 9 3900X, 32 GB ― NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 ― Vivaldi 6.0 ― www.unionbytes.de
Lizard - Script language for symbolic calculations and moreTypeface - Sprite-based font include/module
BarryG
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:17 am

Re: PureBasic 6.00 Alpha 2 released !

Post by BarryG »

I include a lot of icons in my app with the includes inside a DataSection like this:

Code: Select all

Global Catch_Img_Wrap=ImageID(CatchImage(#PB_Any,?Img_Wrap))

DataSection
[...]
Img_Wrap: : IncludeBinary "Wrap.ico"
[...]
EndDataSection
Will this work with the new C backend? I can't test because my app won't compile with it.
Post Reply