It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:18 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:03 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 13627
Location: France
Hi everybody,

The old PB website showed its age (18 years :shock:) so we decided to use redo it using the same template as SpiderBasic one. Took a while but it's up and we would be glad if you could run some test on it (especially user account etc.) to see if all works as intended. I hope you like it !

Have fun,

The Fantaisie Software Team.

ps: if someone has an idea to change the 'building' grayscale image to a new grayscale image but with another pattern on it, feel free to contact me in PM !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:17 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 455
Location: Germany, Saarbrücken
Hi Fred.

At first I have some errors and questions:
  • There is a SSL error on https://www.purebasic.de
  • https://www.purebasic.fr redirects to https://www.purebasic.com/french/ which does not exist
  • Why is it possible to hide the menu when clicking on the burger menu? I don't see the point because it does not save any space.
  • I am missing the language selector.
The login works, downloading is no problem.
In general I think the site has a very low contrast. That bright grey on the white background is not very pleasing.
Resizing the window and zooming seems to be good.

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:20 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 13627
Location: France
Thanks for your replies. Is https://www.purebasic.de error new ? I will take a closer look to other issues.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:21 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 1131
Location: right here
Yes, the hamburger is weird. Same with the 'go up' arrow on the bottom (very slow).

It's funny because 3 hours ago I looked up the purebasic site on archive.org , just to see if it has ever been different. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:24 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:26 pm
Posts: 690
I think that in the list of features, you could add the new moderns features that interest professionals

Features

- Databases management (SQlite, PostgreSQL, MySQL/MariaDB, and others by ODBC)
- Structured data (XML, JSON)
- Webservices REST
- Process

PS. Set of commands is now is almost 1900, I think ?

:wink:

_________________
(English is not my native language, I use an online translator)
Windows 10 Family x64 + Linux (Slackware, Debian on Oracle VirtualBox 6.0) + Raspberry Pi


Last edited by Marc56us on Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:24 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 1131
Location: right here
googling for 'purebasic' gives me this:
https://www.purebasic.com/german/index.php3
(404 Not Found)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:28 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:26 pm
Posts: 690
https://www.purebasic.fr/ redirect to https://www.purebasic.com/french/ and so 404

_________________
(English is not my native language, I use an online translator)
Windows 10 Family x64 + Linux (Slackware, Debian on Oracle VirtualBox 6.0) + Raspberry Pi


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 5:18 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:26 am
Posts: 2926
Location: Planet Earth
On the site https://www.purebasic.com/pricing.php it is talking about SpiderBasic.

Quote:
DO YOU have a question ?

How fast is the delivering?
If your payment has been granted, the account is created automatically
and a mail is sent to your e-mail address.
Be sure to check your spam folder, as it sometimes goes in it.
If you haven't recieved it after one hour, feel free to contact us: support@spiderbasic.com

Can I use the free version to publish webapps ?
Yes, you can do what you want with the apps created with the free version of SpiderBasic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:17 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:51 pm
Posts: 2028
Location: Germany
The registration to the new website of Purebasic works.

The page is a bit light and the contrast to the font is not so good.
My eyes are also a bit older.

I'm on the road a lot with macOS and my other OS´s only as VM. So I prefer the DarkMode of macOS.
If you have fixed the IDE V5.71 for maOS (Crash History Database), you might be able to compile it for the DarkMode of Mojave. :?: :!:

_________________
My Projects ThreadToGUI / OOP-BaseClass / OOP-BaseClassDispatch / EventDesigner V3
PB v3.30 / v5.70 - OS Mac Mini OSX 10.xx - VM Window Pro / Linux Ubuntu
Downloads on my Webspace


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:49 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Posts: 3700
Location: Berlin, Germany
I would like a bit more color. Just grey with little contrast doesn't look good for my old eyes.

And the famous Z should be red, no? :-)

_________________
Please excuse my flawed English. My native language is PureBasic.
Search
RSBasic's backups


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:44 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Posts: 3115
Location: Boston, MA
Yes, where is the FL red Z?

_________________
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:50 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:04 pm
Posts: 3360
I also saw this and had to check it from a couple different sources before I was sure that I wasn't being redirected to some kind of phishing site. It took me a while to realize that the site was actually updated.

Glad to see that it's official. :)

I also agree that the hamburger menu makes no sense for larger screens. It seems to be meant for phones.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:03 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:01 pm
Posts: 1056
Location: Russia
This is how the site looks now.

Image

The old site was much better.

_________________
Library XP_Menu_Lib - office menu; HID_Lib - USB Library
Torrent client - pbTorrent (source code); Create driver in PureBasic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:39 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:03 pm
Posts: 500
It's a minor spelling error, but in the "PORTABLE" section, "compatible" is misspelled.

The old layout was like an old friend, but the new one looks good. The user account section seems to work fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New PureBasic website is up
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 2:40 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:17 am
Posts: 385
Logging into my account works fine.

There's a few "SpiderBasic" text in places, so you need to do a global search/replace on all files and re-upload them.

Personal opinion: Now that the website has majorly changed its look, I'd say the time has come to "grandfather" all existing users to let them continue getting free updates for life, but charge new users a smaller fee for updates (like you do with SpiderBasic). Seriously, don't miss this opportunity now that the site has been updated. You need to start securing recurring revenue from this change.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye