HTML5 Browser

Developed or developing a new product in PureBasic? Tell the world about it.
forumuser
User
User
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:24 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by forumuser »

Thank you, firace!

Now forkle_nsc.exe can be started without problems on this pc :D

If I change

Code: Select all

[SECURITY]
AllowHTTPNavigation = 1
in misc.ini

forkle still throws a message when trying to browse a http site:
"DISALLOWED PROTOCOL: HTTP"

Btw, it does this always two times (the message)

Is AllowHTTPNavigation not what the name implies it to be?
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

forumuser wrote:Thank you, firace!

Now forkle_nsc.exe can be started without problems on this pc :D

If I change

Code: Select all

[SECURITY]
AllowHTTPNavigation = 1
in misc.ini

forkle still throws a message when trying to browse a http site:
"DISALLOWED PROTOCOL: HTTP"

Btw, it does this always two times (the message)

Is AllowHTTPNavigation not what the name implies it to be?
I'm afraid the settings in misc.ini can't be modified yet.

In the meantime, what you can do to allow specific HTTP sites is to add them to the http.ini file (one entry per line) and restart Forkle.
swhite
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 727
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 6:56 pm

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by swhite »

Hi

Downloading the beta results in a zip file of 0 bytes.

Simon
Simon White
dCipher Computing
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

swhite wrote:Hi

Downloading the beta results in a zip file of 0 bytes.

Simon
Sorry about that, there was a server issue. It should be OK now.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Dude wrote:Interesting, and seems to work well. I was expecting broken pages and/or JavaScript error popups, but nope! :)

Went to Snopes to test the ad-blocking of it (they have hundreds!), and it works, but the images are stretched:

Image
A tentative fix for this issue has been added into the latest release, which should also improve image display on some other sites.

Other changes in 0.64.0.321 include some adblocking and performance improvements as well as the following new keyboard shortcuts:

Ctrl+N: Open new window
Ctrl+Tab: Cycle between open windows
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4527
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

Hi,

I'm encontering a problem with the new version:

Code: Select all

forkle.exe https://www.purebasic.fr/english
just opens an empty Forkle window.
The previous Forkle version showed the forum page, as expected.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Little John wrote:Hi,

I'm encontering a problem with the new version:

Code: Select all

forkle.exe https://www.purebasic.fr/english
just opens an empty Forkle window.
The previous Forkle version showed the forum page, as expected.
Ouch. Should be fixed now, in version 0.64.0.327.
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4527
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

Fix confirmed. :-) Thank you!
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4527
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

Hi,

I just encountered the following with Forkle 0.64.0.327. After running e.g.
Forkle opens the desired page, but the address field is empty. That looks a bit strange. :-)
After clicking at a link, the address field then shows the corresponding address, though.

BTW: The height of the address filed is pretty small (compared e.g. with Firefox or Chrome), so its content is not easy to read, at least for older people like me. IMHO this is also a security problem, when I can't reliably read the address of the current page. So maybe you can increase the height of the address field in Forkle and use a bigger font size?
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Little John wrote:Hi,

I just encountered the following with Forkle 0.64.0.327. After running e.g.
Forkle opens the desired page, but the address field is empty. That looks a bit strange. :-)

After clicking at a link, the address field then shows the corresponding address, though.
I remember fixing such an issue a while ago. Please could you try with the latest build (0.65.0.393)?
Little John wrote: BTW: The height of the address filed is pretty small (compared e.g. with Firefox or Chrome), so its content is not easy to read, at least for older people like me. IMHO this is also a security problem, when I can't reliably read the address of the current page. So maybe you can increase the height of the address field in Forkle and use a bigger font size?
Sure, I will do some tests.
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4527
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

Oops, I wasn't aware of the new version 0.65.0.393.
I did more tests with this one, and also with the older version 0.64.0.327.
The results are equal with both versions here:

The content of the address field sometimes is shown with a delay. I.e. the content of the respective page is already shown, but the content of the address field is not yet shown, sometimes for a rather long time. So it happened that I clicked at a link on the page, and then saw the new page, without ever having seen the address that I passed as parameter.

//edit:
It seems that resizing the window with the mouse triggers displaying of the url in the address field.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Little John wrote:Oops, I wasn't aware of the new version 0.65.0.393.
I did more tests with this one, and also with the older version 0.64.0.327.
The results are equal with both versions here:

The content of the address field sometimes is shown with a delay. I.e. the content of the respective page is already shown, but the content of the address field is not yet shown, sometimes for a rather long time. So it happened that I clicked at a link on the page, and then saw the new page, without ever having seen the address that I passed as parameter.

//edit:
It seems that resizing the window with the mouse triggers displaying of the url in the address field.
I've tried to address both issues in 0.65.0.415. I can't reproduce the first one though, so it's a bit of a shot in the dark. Could you give the new build a try? Is the address bar font more readable? (I plan to completely redesign the address bar at some later time anyway)
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4527
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

firace wrote:I've tried to address both issues in 0.65.0.415. I can't reproduce the first one though, so it's a bit of a shot in the dark. Could you give the new build a try? Is the address bar font more readable? (I plan to completely redesign the address bar at some later time anyway)
Yes, the address bar font of version 0.65.0.415 is better readable, thank you!
The other issue is still there: A URL passed as command line parameter often is not visible in the address bar, until I'm resizing the Forkle window with the mouse.
firace
Addict
Addict
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:58 am

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by firace »

Little John wrote:
firace wrote:I've tried to address both issues in 0.65.0.415. I can't reproduce the first one though, so it's a bit of a shot in the dark. Could you give the new build a try? Is the address bar font more readable? (I plan to completely redesign the address bar at some later time anyway)
Yes, the address bar font of version 0.65.0.415 is better readable, thank you!
The other issue is still there: A URL passed as command line parameter often is not visible in the address bar, until I'm resizing the Forkle window with the mouse.
Perhaps now? (build 0.65.0.418)
Little John
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4527
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: HTML5 Browser

Post by Little John »

Build 0.65.0.418 works fine.
Thanks for the quick fix! :-)
Post Reply