PureBasic Forum
https://www.purebasic.fr/english/

PureBasic 5.70 LTS is out !
https://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=70785
Page 7 of 17

Author:  Fred [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

wombats wrote:
Fred wrote:
A new version has been uploaded for Linux to fix the IDE issues, feel free to give it a try !

The IDE starts now.

I'm not able to get Qt to work. I installed the libs and set "qt" as the subsystem, but running the example provided by fr34k, I get the following: "QtScript.a(QtScript.o):(.qtversion[qt_version_tag]+0x0): undefined reference to `qt_version_tag'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status".


Could you try a simple GUI program using with using 'qt' as subsystem ? (like Gadget.pb example)

Author:  useful [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

It is this simple example (Gadget.pb) that by the way requires OpenGadgetList() in an unexpected place.
When trying to build with QT.

the main thing that is missing is new checkinstall.sh !!!

p.s. once again, please pay attention to the topic ( viewtopic.php?f=15&t=69442 )

Author:  Fred [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

I don't understand your post, please fill a bug report with an example if something seems wrong with qt subsystem

Author:  useful [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Fred wrote:
I don't understand your post, please fill a bug report with an example if something seems wrong with qt subsystem


I, with great pleasure and will actively write reports errors after reading the instructions about configuring the subsystem for qt and received the message on success checkinstall.sh taking into account the setting for qt.

Otherwise, I may think it's my fault for not setting it right.

Author:  wombats [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Fred wrote:
wombats wrote:
Fred wrote:
A new version has been uploaded for Linux to fix the IDE issues, feel free to give it a try !

The IDE starts now.

I'm not able to get Qt to work. I installed the libs and set "qt" as the subsystem, but running the example provided by fr34k, I get the following: "QtScript.a(QtScript.o):(.qtversion[qt_version_tag]+0x0): undefined reference to `qt_version_tag'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status".


Could you try a simple GUI program using with using 'qt' as subsystem ? (like Gadget.pb example)

I tried the ButtonGadget example from the documentation to the same result.

Author:  Trond [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Still doesn't start, with the error message mentioned in my previous post.

Author:  Fred [ Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

You will need a newer ubuntu IIRC

Author:  StarBootics [ Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Hello Fred,

Under linux the "LTS" is missing in the version definition.

Best regards
StarBootics

Author:  the.weavster [ Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

freak wrote:
Here is some more info regarding the Qt subsystem:
Thanks for the detailed walk through, freak.

freak wrote:
[*]On the other OS we already have a quite good integration with the native API, so we want to focus on that and not spend work on an "alternative" GUI subsystem that most people will not have any use for.
Fair enough and I do understand the appeal of a small self-contained executable but please could we at least have cell level events / highlighting and column alignment in ListIconGadget()?

Author:  deeproot [ Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Thanks Fred and Freak for this new beta :D

Really exciting stuff, but unfortunately I cannot test much right now due to other time commitments :(

the.weavster wrote:
freak wrote:
Here is some more info regarding the Qt subsystem:
Thanks for the detailed walk through, freak.
This sounds great and maybe an important way forward for PB on Linux.

After a quick install on MX Linux 17 - Qt subsystem works with no problem for a simple program. Also fine with Freak's QtScript example. Switching a big project from Gtk2 to Qt will take more effort due to API calls, but will try soon.

Author:  Ventural [ Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

DPI ListIconGadget test with Enabled DPI Aware Executable turned on
Code:
OpenWindow(0, 0, 0, 300, 100, "DPI ListIconGadget Test")

ListIconGadget(1, 2, 2, 296, 96, "Col A", 75)
AddGadgetColumn(1, 1, "Col B", 75)
AddGadgetColumn(1, 2, "Col C", 75)

AddGadgetItem(1, 1, "Item 1 Data" + #LF$ + "Item 2 Data" + #LF$ + "Item 3 Data")

Repeat : Until WaitWindowEvent() = #PB_Event_CloseWindow

Result with 5.70 Beta 1:
Image

Would be helpful if the column widths automatically adjusted to the new size of ListIconGadget.

Author:  Cezary [ Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon - segmentation fault

BR

EDIT:

I was wrong. I omitted Fred's post on June 6.
Now IDE works.
BR

Author:  Little John [ Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Dear PB team, thanks for the new version 5.70 LTS beta 1! Especially DPI awareness is a good improvement.

On Windows 10, current version 1803, I stumbled across two glitches concerning the IDE (DPI 125%).

  • In PB 5.62, the IDE toolbar has a height of 35 pixels:
    Image

    In 5.70 LTS beta 1, the height is only 28 pixels:
    Image

    I don't know whether or not this change was made deliberately. Anyway, for my old eyes 28 pixels is very small. :-) I would appreciate it, if in PB 5.70 the toolbar were as high as before.

  • When code that is opened in the IDE has been modified by an external program, the IDE raises a warning (according to my preferences). The warning looks fine in PB 5.62:
    Image

    In PB 5.70 beta 1, when the name of the regarding file is long, then the message is not displayed completely:
    Image

Author:  #NULL [ Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Fred wrote:
You will need a newer ubuntu IIRC
Is that in regard to Qt or PB in general? Ubuntu 16.04 x64 here.
I can't start 'purebasic' from a filemanager, it doesn't know how to open 'shared library'
Code:
~/purebasic_5_70_b_1_x64/compilers>file ./purebasic
./purebasic: ELF 64-bit LSB shared object, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2, for GNU/Linux 3.2.0, BuildID[sha1]=c1af8a3e3cd52668ce23ec1fd2913b9b212ea7e3, stripped
starting from the commandline works thought. But it can't compile. 'Compiler isn't loaded yet'. In Preferences > Compiler, i see the default compiler is an older one, even older than the PB version i used lately. My PB 5.62 has its own compiler set as default and no additional compilers set. But PB 5.70b1 has set a default compiler from some 5.60 directory which doesn't even exist with that exact name. There is no version info in titlebar or About, but the splashscreen and About says 06/06/2018. I added an additional compiler with the correct 5.70 one and enabled it in a source file's compiler option, but compiler still 'isn't loaded yet'. Restarting the IDE didn't help.

<edit>
And many Thanks for the continuing work! :)

<edit>
I can compile in 5.62 using the 5.70b1 compiler.

Author:  srod [ Mon Jul 02, 2018 2:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: PureBasic 5.70 LTS beta 1 is out !

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, PB 5.70x64.

Same problems as #Null in that I have to use the command line to run the IDE. Same problem as Wombats in that I get all sorts of linker errors when trying to use the qt subsystem.

Alright, what am I missing? :)

Page 7 of 17 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/