It is currently Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:14 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: is there a way to turn off the screen (Monitor) with p.b.?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:55 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 7
i need an app that turns off the screen...just like a screen saver.
and reactivate it when i hit a button.

why?
cause when i record a guitar track with my pc the sound is full of hum when the screen it's on.

thank youuuu
deb


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: is there a way to turn off the screen (Monitor) with p.b
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 7:39 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 7:37 pm
Posts: 103
Location: West Yorkshire, England
debaser wrote:
i need an app that turns off the screen...just like a screen saver.
and reactivate it when i hit a button.

why?
cause when i record a guitar track with my pc the sound is full of hum when the screen it's on.

thank youuuu
deb


The easiest way would be to put a shortcut on your desktop to the blank screen screensaver (say that when you're drunk!) and just double click as needed. Saves writing a program to do the same thing. Or, am I misreading the question? :)

Jim


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:19 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 1861
Location: Argentina
ehh I think that wouldnt help.. as the monitor would still be ON but just showing black all the time ... no? - Hes getting some noise / interference

(weird... which equipments are you using? you sure dont have any sound wires close to 220v - 110v maybe in your country - ??? ) weird again..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:04 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Posts: 6074
powersaving may kick in

_________________
( PB5.xx Win10 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 1600X 32GB RAM Evo 840 GTX1060 )
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:13 am 
Offline
Always Here
Always Here
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Posts: 5883
Location: Denmark
I found a delphi code to do this, and converted it.
Needs a window, though

Code:
#SC_MONITORPOWER= $F170
#WM_SYSCOMMAND = $112
window=OpenWindow(1,1,1,1,1,#PB_Window_Invisible,"")
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,2 )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:39 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:12 pm
Posts: 2452
Location: Norway
My monitor sometimes make a humming noice when it's displaying bright colors, it's weird...

_________________
I like logic, hence I dislike humans but love computers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:11 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:50 pm
Posts: 658
Location: France
Cool for my Lib :D

Code:
; Author : thefool
; Turn off the monitor  : 2
; Standby monitor       : 1
; Turn on the monitor   : -1

#SC_MONITORPOWER= $F170
#WM_SYSCOMMAND = $112

window=OpenWindow(1,1,1,1,1,#PB_Window_Invisible,"")
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,2 )
Delay(1000)
WaitWindowEvent()
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,-1 )


Thanks

_________________
DroopyLib/PBFastLib/HMod


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:30 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 2078
Location: USA
Droopy wrote:
Cool for my Lib :D

Code:
; Author : thefool
; Turn off the monitor  : 2
; Standby monitor       : 1
; Turn on the monitor   : -1

#SC_MONITORPOWER= $F170
#WM_SYSCOMMAND = $112

window=OpenWindow(1,1,1,1,1,#PB_Window_Invisible,"")
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,2 )
Delay(1000)
WaitWindowEvent()
SendMessage_(WindowID(), #WM_SYSCOMMAND, #SC_MONITORPOWER,-1 )


Thanks


Doesn't work properly here. It does put it in stanby mode with "1" or "2" but "2" doesn't turn it off. "-1" doesn't turn it on either.

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:57 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:50 pm
Posts: 658
Location: France
Works @ home ( XP / Geforce 4 ti 4200 / Hyundai Q15 )
Works @ Work ( XP / Intel Graphic / HP 21" P110 )

strange, try moving the mouse to turn it on .

_________________
DroopyLib/PBFastLib/HMod


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:01 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 2078
Location: USA
Droopy wrote:
Works @ home ( XP / Geforce 4 ti 4200 / Hyundai Q15 )
Works @ Work ( XP / Intel Graphic / HP 21" P110 )

strange, try moving the mouse to turn it on .


It might have something to do if the mobo supports this feature or not. Can't seem to get it to work, oh well.

_________________
www.posemotion.com

PureBasic Tools for OS X: PureMonitor, plist Tool, Data Maker & App Chef

Mac: 10.13.6 / 1.4GHz Core 2 Duo / 2GB DDR3 / Nvidia 320M
PC: Win 7 / AMD 64 4000+ / 3GB DDR / Nvidia 720GT


Even the vine knows it surroundings but the man with eyes does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:38 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 1:59 pm
Posts: 7
great!
thanks a lot

well it's not an issue of wires.... is just the radiations of my crt through my pickups


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:42 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 5:05 pm
Posts: 1769
Location: Norway
I've experienced the issue myself before!
The best solution (next to bying a super expensive super shielded monitor)
(a LCD make less radiation btw, might wanna try that)

Is to simply turn off the power of the monitor,
hit the record hotkey play then when done hit the record hotkey again to stop,
then turn on the monitor.
And when I say turn off/on, I mean the actual power button,
not any standby modes etc. as those still causes radiation,
or PSU load/hum in the monitor.

Also be aware that the monitor will leak radiation/interfearance even for a few seconds after the monitor has been turned off. wait at least 10 sec or more...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye