Creating a soundtrack (and saving it)

Just starting out? Need help? Post your questions and find answers here.
Seymour Clufley
Addict
Addict

Creating a soundtrack (and saving it)

Post by Seymour Clufley »

I want to create a WAV file from scratch, specifying other WAV files to be mixed into it at different times. Something like:

Code: Select all

total length = 13seconds
start clip1.wav at 2seconds
start clip2.wav at 7seconds
save mix to my_soundtrack.wav
I've never worked with PB and audio before. Can anyone tell me the simplest way to get this done?

Thanks,
Seymour.
JACK WEBB: "Coding in C is like sculpting a statue using only sandpaper. You can do it, but the result wouldn't be any better. So why bother? Just use the right tools and get the job done."
Seymour Clufley
Addict
Addict

Re: Creating a soundtrack (and saving it)

Thanks for the links, but they don't give any information about how to mix several sounds. Does anybody have experience of doing this in PB?
JACK WEBB: "Coding in C is like sculpting a statue using only sandpaper. You can do it, but the result wouldn't be any better. So why bother? Just use the right tools and get the job done."
kenmo
Addict
Addict

Post by kenmo »

I actually wrote some code that may be exactly what you need... I can post it tonight when I am home.

It never became a complete WAV library like I planned, but it can load basic WAVs, mix them, and save to files (or you can use CatchSound() directly).
Seymour Clufley
Addict
Addict

That sounds really good, Kenmo.

Using the code linked by Guimauve, I did eventually get the job done, but the sounds aren't mixed. Each one stops when the next one starts - result is clicks and pops, but it's better than nothing.

But I would be very interested in the code you mentioned.
kenmo
Addict
Addict

Post by kenmo »

Hmmm, I looked over my old code... and I don't like it. (I could send you it if you'd like to look through it.)