Draw a 'web-browser' on a hDC (Screen-output) (Windows only)

Just starting out? Need help? Post your questions and find answers here.
User avatar
netmaestro
PureBasic Bullfrog
PureBasic Bullfrog
Posts: 8215
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:42 am
Location: Fort Nelson, BC, Canada

Post by netmaestro »

32bit on Vista is OK here if you turn Aero off, which is further confirmation of I-don't-know-what :?
BERESHEIT
srod
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 10589
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Beyond the pale...

Post by srod »

Confirmed.

Perhaps due to the lack of composition thus being performed by the desktop manager. Strange.

The message is clear though - stick to 24-bits for such things! :)
I may look like a mule, but I'm not a complete ass.
User avatar
netmaestro
PureBasic Bullfrog
PureBasic Bullfrog
Posts: 8215
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:42 am
Location: Fort Nelson, BC, Canada

Post by netmaestro »

btw, I believe this happened while you were on vacation, they changed the default image depth back to 24bits for v4.40 beta 2.

also btw as I don't think I mentioned it, excellent work with the objects here!
BERESHEIT
srod
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 10589
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Beyond the pale...

Post by srod »

netmaestro wrote:btw, I believe this happened while you were on vacation, they changed the default image depth back to 24bits for v4.40 beta 2.

also btw as I don't think I mentioned it, excellent work with the objects here!
Ah yes, the 24-bit default does make sense.

As for the objects; I just translated the Aurora code and added the bits required by Purebasic. Thanks anyhow. 8)
I may look like a mule, but I'm not a complete ass.
UserOfPure
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:18 am

Post by UserOfPure »

netmaestro wrote:

Code: Select all

Import "uuid.lib" 
  IID_IHTMLDocument2 
  IID_IViewObject 
EndImport 
If I create an executable with the above code, do I need to include any dependencies with it, because of the import above? Or will my executable be standalone?

Also, the height variable is 600 but if I send www.google.com to it, then the image gadget is way larger than the home page of Google. Is there a way to know the correct real height of the web page?
User avatar
netmaestro
PureBasic Bullfrog
PureBasic Bullfrog
Posts: 8215
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:42 am
Location: Fort Nelson, BC, Canada

Post by netmaestro »

Actually srod wrote that. As to dependencies, all you should have to worry about is this from the PB docs for the web gadget:
PB Doc for Web Gadget wrote:Note: on Microsoft Windows the WebGadget uses the Internet Explorer 4.0+ ActiveX object. This means that IE has to be installed (already present on Win98/Me and Win2000/XP). The ATL.dll, present in the PureBasic\Compilers\ directory is also needed, and must be in the same directory as the executable.
On the size, I don't know. But I believe most web pages these days are written to stretch out to the window size.
BERESHEIT
Post Reply