Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Share your advanced PureBasic knowledge/code with the community.
User avatar
Rings
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 1:11 am

Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by Rings »

i know that a similar functions exist in other basic-dialect.
a thread in the german forum gives me the idea to this code:

Code: Select all

Macro BloatMe(_LONGS_)
! jmp SR
;DataSection
!    rept _LONGS_ counter
!     {
;!        byte#counter db counter
!       dword#counter dd counter
!     }
!SR:
;EndDataSection
EndMacro

BloatMe(100000) ;Bloat nearly 400kbyte

MessageRequester("Test","BLOATING",0)
SPAMINATOR NR.1
srod
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 10589
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: Beyond the pale...

Post by srod »

No worries there with the way I write code - already bloated enough! :wink:
I may look like a mule, but I'm not a complete ass.
dell_jockey
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 6:56 pm

Post by dell_jockey »

ah, cool, now I can bloat initial releases and with each successive update claim smaller memory footprints due to further optimizations ... :lol:
cheers,
dell_jockey
________
http://blog.forex-trading-ideas.com
User avatar
luis
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3876
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Italy

Post by luis »

dell_jockey wrote:ah, cool, now I can bloat initial releases and with each successive update claim smaller memory footprints due to further optimizations ... :lol:
Great idea :lol:
User avatar
Rook Zimbabwe
Addict
Addict
Posts: 4326
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Cypress TX
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by Rook Zimbabwe »

Nope... I may use it to do the code reduction program so I can look like a genius at work.. hmmm...

But lets face it My code is BLOAT personified! :mrgreen:
Binarily speaking... it takes 10 to Tango!!!

Image
http://www.bluemesapc.com/
User avatar
idle
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5018
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:52 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by idle »

If it's a case of appearing competitive in the eyes of a user who might have concluded that a 30Mb download must be really something special compared to 100kb download.
Bloat away! :lol:
Windows 11, Manjaro, Raspberry Pi OS
Image
User avatar
GeoTrail
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2794
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Bergen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by GeoTrail »

What's the point of this? :shock:
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by blueznl »

Well, let me check my seriousness meter...


0% -- | ------------------------------------------------------ 100%

Ah, thought so.
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
milan1612
Addict
Addict
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:15 am
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by milan1612 »

blueznl wrote:Well, let me check my seriousness meter...


0% -- | ------------------------------------------------------ 100%

Ah, thought so.
Love it! :lol:
Windows 7 & PureBasic 4.4
Kale
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 3000
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:03 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by Kale »

GeoTrail wrote:What's the point of this? :shock:
Believe it or not, some customers will look at you funny if you supply a 100k app that fulfils their needs but will be happy when they recieve a 2.5Mb app that does the same thing. :shock:
--Kale

Image
User avatar
GeoTrail
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2794
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Bergen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by GeoTrail »

@Kale, yeah I have similar experience there. :lol:
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!
ricardo
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2402
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:06 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by ricardo »

Something very similar happends in some nitche of the furniture business.
A friend of mine make furniture and he found that when selling expensive furniture it HAS to have at least some 'decent' weight, otherwise some clients do not feel comfortable.
He had to find a way to add weight to his furniture before tring to sell it.
ARGENTINA WORLD CHAMPION
UserOfPure
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:18 am

Re:

Post by UserOfPure »

dell_jockey wrote:ah, cool, now I can bloat initial releases and with each successive update claim smaller memory footprints due to further optimizations ... :lol:
Don't laugh; that's an EXCELLENT idea! I'm going to take it on board. It's all about the marketing, after all. :)
Kale
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 3000
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:03 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
Contact:

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by Kale »

ricardo wrote:Something very similar happends in some nitche of the furniture business.
A friend of mine make furniture and he found that when selling expensive furniture it HAS to have at least some 'decent' weight, otherwise some clients do not feel comfortable.
He had to find a way to add weight to his furniture before tring to sell it.
When i was a young lad i used to like taking things apart to see what was inside, i couldn't believe the amount of items that had lead weights inside, doing nothing other than adding extra weight to make the product seem better quality.
--Kale

Image
SFSxOI
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:24 pm
Location: Where ya would never look.....

Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe

Post by SFSxOI »

Have we all gotten it wrong? I sort of thought that one of the goals for coding was to reduce bloat?

In relation to the post about the furniture; the reason the weight seems to affect sales is because people have the economic/financial implied concept that weight in certain items means solid in a sturdy and long lasting context. This might be more suitably explained by a childhood experience that a lot of people have had when mom or dad bought you clothing, especially shoes. You might have heard your parents say something regarding the durability of an item or maybe they had questions about it, they might have overlooked fashion clothing (contrary to your desires) in favor of durability and "lastability". It was a common sense determination that something would last for a while based upon its construction/material (for example, Regular Levi or Wrangler jeans are more suitable for a kid playing then fashion jeans) and thus be more suitable economically or financially because the longer an item lasted meant the less frequently it needed to be replaced or repaired. The weight of certain items such as furniture conjures up the same general "seems sturdy so it will last" concept because weight implies more material which implies for certain items better construction which implies its sturdy which implies its quality which implies its "lastability".

BTW, there is also another way to put bloat into a program without really putting bloat in to affect the memory footprint. You create an empty .txt file of the size you choose and simply include it in your program. There is code in the forum for producing empty .txt files of any size that you choose. Its more precise then guessing that 100000 = nearly 400kbyte as you can choose the exact size. Plus it doesn't affect the memory footprint as long as the .txt file is really empty becauzse there is no data in the .txt to allocate memory too.
The advantage of a 64 bit operating system over a 32 bit operating system comes down to only being twice the headache.
Post Reply