XOJO uses pcode ?

Everything else that doesn't fall into one of the other PB categories.
User avatar
TI-994A
Addict
Addict
Posts: 2512
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:47 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by TI-994A »

Tenaja wrote:...many users are ignorant people who think "more is better", and if they see two programs to choose from, one takes no ram, and the other requires 5MB, the latter must have more special features or benefits that aren't listed.
Sadly, so true.

My core competence has always been UX, keeping the UI simple and intuitive, the program flow short and easy, and the user-interaction to a minimum, for an optimal and favourable user experience. Unfortunately, all this effort is sometimes wasted on philistines who believe that such simple software should be cheaper.

Simply heartbreaking. :lol:
Texas Instruments TI-99/4A Home Computer: the first home computer with a 16bit processor, crammed into an 8bit architecture. Great hardware - Poor design - Wonderful BASIC engine. And it could talk too! Please visit my YouTube Channel :D
User avatar
Keya
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1891
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:10 am

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by Keya »

Tenaja wrote:if they see two programs to choose from, one takes no ram, and the other requires 5MB, the latter must have more special features or benefits that aren't listed.
So turn your helpfile into a novel, use BMPs instead of PNGs, but keep your executable lean and mean :D
User avatar
Shield
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:25 am
Location: 'stralia!
Contact:

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by Shield »

Tenaja wrote:Java is a perfect example of "correctly done".
I wouldn't call Java "correctly done", more like "rectified by brute force".
Java has many architectural flaws and issues that accumulated over time
(say: the .NET architecture is a lot better), but by throwing "tons of engineers"
at it, these things could be improved drastically. :)
Image
Blog: Why Does It Suck? (http://whydoesitsuck.com/)
"You can disagree with me as much as you want, but during this talk, by definition, anybody who disagrees is stupid and ugly."
- Linus Torvalds
User avatar
blueb
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 2:15 pm
Location: Cuernavaca, Mexico

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by blueb »

TI-994A wrote:... Unfortunately, all this effort is sometimes wasted on philistines who believe that such simple software should be cheaper.

Simply heartbreaking. :lol:
My solution: :D

Code: Select all

Macro BloatMe(_LONGS_)
! jmp SR
;DataSection
!    rept _LONGS_ counter
!     {
;!        byte#counter db counter
!       dword#counter dd counter
!     }
!SR:
;EndDataSection
EndMacro

BloatMe(100000) ;Bloat nearly 400kbyte

MessageRequester("BLOATING", "Created a file (this is nearly 400k in size)",0)
- It was too lonely at the top.

System : PB 6.10 LTS (x64) and Win Pro 11 (x64)
Hardware: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X w/64 gigs Ram, AMD RX 6950 XT Graphics w/16gigs Mem
User avatar
the.weavster
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1537
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 6:53 pm
Location: England

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by the.weavster »

chrisc wrote:I heard from a reliable source that XOJO uses pcode?
Xojo uses LLVM so there's an intermediate representation, maybe that's why your source is getting confused.
Last edited by the.weavster on Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
the.weavster
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1537
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 6:53 pm
Location: England

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by the.weavster »

Fred wrote:pcode (if correctly done) allows more optimisation depending of the running target processor: you can ship a single exe which will run on x86 or x64, use SSE/SSE2 or any other hardware stuff if available.
Any secret plans for JVMBasic :?: :)
User avatar
Shield
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:25 am
Location: 'stralia!
Contact:

Re: XOJO uses pcode ?

Post by Shield »

Wanna cause a heart attack in like 50% of the forum members? :lol:
Image
Blog: Why Does It Suck? (http://whydoesitsuck.com/)
"You can disagree with me as much as you want, but during this talk, by definition, anybody who disagrees is stupid and ugly."
- Linus Torvalds
Post Reply