It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:32 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Portable does not work?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:47 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:35 am
Posts: 3
Hi,

I'm a new user and just bought PureBasic. I've read that it can
be run in a portable mode by invoking PureBasic.exe with the
argument /PORTABLE

So I've downloaded v5.60 for Windows (x86 and x64) from my
PureBasic account and extracted both with Universal Extractor.

My system: Windows Server 2012 R2 U3, x64

I've then built the following directory structure:
D:\Tools\PureBasic
-> Contains the starter file that calls "D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\PureBasic.exe" with the /PORTABLE argument
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic
-> Contains all x86 files
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\x64
-> Contains only the Catalogs, Compilers, PureLibraries and Residents folder from the x64 version

In the preferences, the default compiler is listed as
PureBasic 5.60 (Windows - x86)
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\Compilers\pbcompiler.exe

And for additional compilers I've added
PureBasic 5.60 (Windows - x64)
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\x64\Compilers\pbcompiler.exe

My problem:
When I use the starter file, The PureBasic IDE loads but displays this error message
instantly:
Code:
PureBasic - Compiler Error
Can't load built-in libraries, please re-install PureBasic.


How do I fix this (and obviously not by installing PureBasic^^)?

Regards,
oO0XX0Oo


Last edited by oO0XX0Oo on Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Portable does not work?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:29 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:15 am
Posts: 860
Without installing it, it don't work.
You can install it without registry entries. At the install dialog, uncheck the "Lauch PureBasic now" checkbox and finish
the installation. After that, you can use your starter or an icon with /PORTABLE flag.

Or you install it onto an usb device. Thats the same. Don't launch purebasic after installation.

_________________
PureBasic 5.45 LTS / 5.61 (Windows x86/x64) | Windows10 Pro x64 | Z87-PLUS | i7 4770k | 32GB RAM | iChill GeForce GTX 980 X4 Ultra | HAF XF Evo​​
English is not my native language...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Portable does not work?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:01 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:35 am
Posts: 3
The differences between installing (but not starting it without /portable afterwards)
and extracting the .exe file are:

An uninstall entry in the registry (on a 64-bit machine: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\PureBasic_is1)

and the installation of the d3dx9_42.dll file

So I just deleted all config files in the application directory (in my case D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic)
and fired it up again...

Result: No error message from the compiler, everything works as expected now...

Thanks Bisonte!

Regards,
oO0XX0Oo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [Solved] Portable does not work?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:15 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2003 12:01 am
Posts: 480
I always use the following workflow for new PB versions:
  • I always install the setup without "Launch now"
  • Then I copy the programm folder to an other directory "...\64bit\PB_x.y" or "...\32bit\PB_x.y"
    I do not copy the "setup specific files" which are needed for uninstall.
  • Then I uninstall the installed version
  • Now I have a clean portable version in "...\64bit\PB_x.y" or "...\32bit\PB_x.y" ...

_________________
Windows 10 / Windows 7
PB Last Final / Last Beta Testing


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [Solved] Portable does not work?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:53 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:07 am
Posts: 355
Location: Germany / one of the fishheads
I install each versions of PureBasic in a virtual machine.
After installing the program I copy the programm folder and sourcecode folders to my real machine and create a new desktoplink to the PureBasic.exe with /PORTABLE parameter to start the new version. Then I will reset the virtual machine and all is clean.

But I would appreciate that the installer explained the portable installation of PureBasic better and this mode should be explicitly selectable, so that a desktop shortcut including the /PORTABLE parameter is automatically generated.

Also another mechanism to start PureBasic in portable mode would be nice (and safer). Currently the registry keys will be written, if one accidentially starts the PureBasic.exe without the /PORTABLE parameters. Other programs will determine the portable mode in a different way (for example if a file exists in the program directory named 'portabel.dat' or by an entry in the config file 'RunInPortableMode =' true' or so).

_________________
Sorry, my english knowledge is limited, but I hope it is adequate to understand what is meant.
PB 5.60, OS: Windows 7 Pro x64, CPU: I7 6500, RAM: 8 GB, GPU: Intel Graphics HD 520
"Happiness is a pet, not a road or destination" ;-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Portable does not work?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:19 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:35 am
Posts: 3
While my 32 bit version (portable) runs fine and compiling from the GUI or by invoking
pbcompiler.exe manually isn't a problem, I can't figure out how to add a working 64 bit
compiler...

Let me quote myself from the first posting:
Quote:
I've then built the following directory structure:
D:\Tools\PureBasic
-> Contains the starter file that calls "D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\PureBasic.exe" with the /PORTABLE argument
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic
-> Contains all x86 files
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\x64
-> Contains only the Catalogs, Compilers, PureLibraries and Residents folder from the x64 version

In the preferences, the default compiler is listed as
PureBasic 5.60 (Windows - x86)
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\Compilers\pbcompiler.exe

And for additional compilers I've added
PureBasic 5.60 (Windows - x64)
D:\Tools\PureBasic\App\PureBasic\x64\Compilers\pbcompiler.exe


I wanted to compile a 64 bit .exe today but after chosing
[x] Use Compiler
PureBasic 5.60 (Windows - x64)
in the Compiler Options for the current project
it won't build:

Quote:
PureBasic - Compiler Error
Can't load built-in libraries, please re-install PureBasic.


Is there no other way to use two portable setups, one for x86 and one for x64?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye