Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7600P

Windows specific forum
HanPBF
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:42 am

Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7600P

Post by HanPBF »

I just recognized, that flickering depends oviously on system.

While on my business laptop, the gadgets flicker when resized (HP ZBook G2 with Quadro K5100M graphics) on my private Zotac PC (AMD FX7600P CPU, has APU), the gadget resizing works without flicker.

Even with "same" operating system windows 10 64bit.

Both is valid for PB 5.61 64bit and 32bit.

Where is the difference?
What makes PureBasic flicker on laptop and not on desktop PC?


It's not so import while still annoying but I'd like to understand where such a difference comes from.

Code: Select all

SmartWindowRefresh(Win, #True)
helps a little, little bit while still very visible flickering.

Any hints apreciated!


Regards!
Dude
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by Dude »

There's a DeFlicker module by PureLust here: http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 12&t=65364

But see my post at the end of it, here: http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... 04#p512404

Maybe my callback tip is all you'll need, too?
HanPBF
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:42 am

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by HanPBF »

Hello Dude!

With Your tip

Code: Select all

procedure callbackWindow(hWnd, Message, WParam, LParam)
  protected Result = #PB_ProcessPureBasicEvents
  
  If Message=#WM_SIZING
	  UpdateWindow_(hWnd)
	EndIf

  procedureturn Result
endProcedure
the flickering is very much less!

Only a sub canvas in scrollarea still flickers minimal.

Thanks a lot!!!
HanPBF
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:42 am

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by HanPBF »

I've also tested the deflicker code from PureLust.
Flickers a lot!

Don't know what makes the systems different in showing windows...
User avatar
netmaestro
PureBasic Bullfrog
PureBasic Bullfrog
Posts: 8425
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:42 am
Location: Fort Nelson, BC, Canada

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by netmaestro »

Good one, Dude.
BERESHEIT
Dude
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1907
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by Dude »

There may be times when the DeFlicker module is still needed, though, which is why I said in my callback tip that it works in my specific situation. I certainly don't want to take away from PureLust's work! But if a simple callback works as opposed to including a large module, well, I know which I prefer.
HanPBF
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:42 am

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by HanPBF »

Maybe PureLust's work will finally solve the problem some day. He did a great work!

That's why I gave both of the devices I used.
I was surprised seeing that the laptop with the faster graphics has the problem while the desktop had not.
O.k., there are many levels/interfaces from PureBasic down to graphics hardware.

As I saw in another current discussion about canvas gadget and flicker effects, I remembered that many business software I see suffers from the flickering problem.
I guess that those software not having this problem goes deep into the system:
- Google Chrome
- MS Office

In my program, I use canvasGadget as container and it flickers really heavy and gadgets disappear in scrollareagadget; only HideGadget #True then #False helps! Maybe I need to do a refresh gadget or something similar.
But, how many times is the window resized?
It's annoying but a minor problem.

Btw., Google Chrome flickers also! ;-)
IdeasVacuum
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 6425
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:33 am
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by IdeasVacuum »

Hi HanPBF

Probably your Quadro K5100M is only used by apps that require it (CAD-CAM, Video editor etc) using OpenGL, OpenCL, CUDA etc.
The GPU built into the motherboard is used for app GUIs. Check that you have the latest drivers (both GPUs) - the ones that came with the computer are nearly always out of date.
IdeasVacuum
If it sounds simple, you have not grasped the complexity.
HanPBF
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:42 am

Re: Gadgets flicker; Win10 b64bit; Quadro K5100M vs. AMD FX7

Post by HanPBF »

Hello IdeasVacuum!

Thanks a lot for explanation!

Makes sense; so the Quadro graphics card is somewhat oversized for the simple GUI.
Then GPU is used which has an old driver.

Would be no surprise to me if updates are old;-)

Thanks again for making things clear!
Post Reply