PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post bugs related to the IDE here
sys64802
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:55 pm

PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post by sys64802 »

Code: Select all

DeclareModule x
Declare foo(a,b)
EndDeclareModule

Module x
Procedure foo(a,b)
EndProcedure
EndModule


a = x::foo(a,b)

Move the cursor after foo and the help (prototype) of the function is shown in the status bar.

Change the last line to

Code: Select all

Global a = x::foo(a,b)
and it doesn't work anymore. Same with Define.

PB 5.42 x86 Windows 7
User avatar
Sicro
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:25 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post by Sicro »

The same on Linux.
Image
Why OpenSource should have a license :: PB-CodeArchiv-Rebirth :: Pleasant-Dark (syntax color scheme) :: RegEx-Engine (compiles RegExes to NFA/DFA)
Manjaro Xfce x64 (Main system) :: Windows 10 Home (VirtualBox) :: Newest PureBasic version
User avatar
luis
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3876
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post by luis »

Just encountered this one year later with PB 5.60

It also happens inside procedures with Protected. So Define, Global and Protected.

Not vital but if these IDE helpers problems could be fixed (I remember this one -> http://www.purebasic.fr/english/viewtop ... =4&t=59911) would be nice.
"Have you tried turning it off and on again ?"
A little PureBasic review
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3972
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post by skywalk »

Don't assign on same line and it's ok.

Code: Select all

DeclareModule x
Declare.d foo(a.d,b.d)
EndDeclareModule

Module x
  Procedure.d foo(a.d,b.d)
    ProcedureReturn #PI
  EndProcedure
EndModule

Global a.d; = x::foo(a,b)
;UseModule x: a = foo(a,b)
a = x::foo(a,b)
Debug a
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
User avatar
luis
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3876
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post by luis »

I know, that's probably why in the bug report it's on the same line :)
"Have you tried turning it off and on again ?"
A little PureBasic review
User avatar
skywalk
Addict
Addict
Posts: 3972
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: PB542 Prototype of function not shown in status bar

Post by skywalk »

That is understood, I just prefer all options are posted.
Since I automate so much code, it is more complicated to deal with defines and assigns on same line anyway.
The nice thing about standards is there are so many to choose from. ~ Andrew Tanenbaum
Post Reply