InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Graphics

Everything related to 3D programming
User avatar
Kurzer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Near Hamburg

InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Graphics

Post by Kurzer »

Hello,

after switching to a new computer, I tried one of the 3D examples of PureBasic for the first time today.

But every PureBasic 3D example failed with the InitEngine3D () function. It is always returned #False.

My computer is a Windows 7 x64 computer with Intel i7 CPU and integrated HD 520 graphics controller. I have no problems with other programs like GPU acceleration.

I use PureBasic in portable mode. What could be the problem here? Is anybody experienced with that?

Many thanks in advance.
Kurzer

PS: These are my DirectX Settings.
Image
PB 6.02 x64, OS: Win 7 Pro x64 & Win 11 x64, Desktopscaling: 125%, CPU: I7 6500, RAM: 16 GB, GPU: Intel Graphics HD 520, User age in 2023: 56y
"Happiness is a pet." | "Never run a changing system!"
User avatar
DK_PETER
Addict
Addict
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:06 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by DK_PETER »

Try using 'OpenGL' as library subsystem in Compiler options.
Current configurations:
Ubuntu 20.04/64 bit - Window 10 64 bit
Intel 6800K, GeForce Gtx 1060, 32 gb ram.
Amd Ryzen 9 5950X, GeForce 3070, 128 gb ram.
User avatar
Kurzer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Near Hamburg

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by Kurzer »

Thanks DK_PETER, this is working.
But I wonder why it doesn't work when I enter DirectX11 as a subsystem (or why it doesn't work out of the box). The subsystem DirectX11 is located in the PureBasic directory, right next to the OpenGL directory.
PB 6.02 x64, OS: Win 7 Pro x64 & Win 11 x64, Desktopscaling: 125%, CPU: I7 6500, RAM: 16 GB, GPU: Intel Graphics HD 520, User age in 2023: 56y
"Happiness is a pet." | "Never run a changing system!"
User avatar
DK_PETER
Addict
Addict
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:06 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by DK_PETER »

Hi kurzer
The DirectX11 Subsystem is not for the 3D engine, That requires opengl or dx9c installed.
Dx11 is for sprites only.
Current configurations:
Ubuntu 20.04/64 bit - Window 10 64 bit
Intel 6800K, GeForce Gtx 1060, 32 gb ram.
Amd Ryzen 9 5950X, GeForce 3070, 128 gb ram.
User avatar
Kurzer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Near Hamburg

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by Kurzer »

Thank you for clarify this.
Do you know if I can install DirectX9 parallel to the existing DirectX 11? Are there any side effects?

If only a certain DirectX 9 DLL is needed, I could install DirectX 9 in a virtual machine and copy the desired DLL to the Purbasics directory of my host computer.
PB 6.02 x64, OS: Win 7 Pro x64 & Win 11 x64, Desktopscaling: 125%, CPU: I7 6500, RAM: 16 GB, GPU: Intel Graphics HD 520, User age in 2023: 56y
"Happiness is a pet." | "Never run a changing system!"
User avatar
DK_PETER
Addict
Addict
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:06 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by DK_PETER »

Just install dx9c, there are no side effects. :-)
Current configurations:
Ubuntu 20.04/64 bit - Window 10 64 bit
Intel 6800K, GeForce Gtx 1060, 32 gb ram.
Amd Ryzen 9 5950X, GeForce 3070, 128 gb ram.
User avatar
Kurzer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Near Hamburg

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by Kurzer »

Thanks again, DK_PETER. Image

I'll do so, if it's really needed. I was just wondering why it didn't work out.
I'm one of the "keep my system as clean as possible" paranoids. With your help I can compile the 3D examples with OpenGL and I know what's the reason why it does't work with DirectX (11). That's enough for now. :)

Tak.
PB 6.02 x64, OS: Win 7 Pro x64 & Win 11 x64, Desktopscaling: 125%, CPU: I7 6500, RAM: 16 GB, GPU: Intel Graphics HD 520, User age in 2023: 56y
"Happiness is a pet." | "Never run a changing system!"
User avatar
JamieVanCadsand
User
User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:28 pm
Location: Holland

Re: InitEngine3D() failed on my Win7 x64 w.Intel HD 520 Grap

Post by JamieVanCadsand »

Its even so, thad i think maby you must put Engine3d.dll into our project map where you
put our .pb source codes, or put this into our Windows dll's...

I am momental not usin the 3d engine, I am still an hobby student, now I am
programming bouncing ball in 2d... Just I must rondup programming level 1,
Than I must still start to learn the second step with programming.

Just I don't get time to help you with the 3d engine... Sorry for thad...

Jamie.
Post Reply