It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:01 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:12 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Germany, Homburg (Saar)
Hi there,

small example: If I type 'struc' into the IDE, wait for the autocomplete window (some milliseconds to 1 second delay) and then press TAB, I got 'Structure'. That's good. But if I press TAB before the autocomplete window appears I got "struc<TAB>Structure". That is really annoying, because it happens very often to me.

Sometimes while programming the autocomplete window is only a gray box, so I can not see what really is there. But if I press TAB the word will be completed. I don't know when this happens, but mostly it will remain gray every time after the first time this error happens. If I am lucky I got it to work again without restarting the IDE, but I don't know how...

I am running Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 with Gnome 13.10.4

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Last edited by NicTheQuick on Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:59 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Oldenburg (Germany)
I can confirm the gray drop down menu on Fedora 20 32-bit.

_________________
I'm gone. Maybe I'll come back if GTK3 works better, and the PB-IDE is also adapted to GTK3.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 10:52 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:30 pm
Posts: 626
Location: Nottinghamshire UK
Confirmed on mint 17 x64

Zebuddi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:36 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Germany, Homburg (Saar)
Has anyone an idea how to force this issue? I think it would help Fred an freak to solve this error.

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:05 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Oldenburg (Germany)
This code does not show exactly the problem described above, but the code completion drop down window does not open at all, what is a bug, too.

Code:
Structure DlgButton
  Window.i
EndStructure

Structure Dlg
  Window.i
  Parent.i
EndStructure

Global Dlg.Dlg

;when pressing the backslash, the code completion window does NOT open
Dlg\

;if you comment out the first structure above, it works

_________________
I'm gone. Maybe I'll come back if GTK3 works better, and the PB-IDE is also adapted to GTK3.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray: to dupli
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:50 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:30 pm
Posts: 626
Location: Nottinghamshire UK
For me i wanted to type
Code:
If ReadFile(
but i hit the tab button on Read that was displayed in the (auto complete box) as this now advanced the cursor 1 character i pressed backspace. The (auto complete box) opened greyed out and i am now having trouble getting it to display anything.

Even if i backspace delete each character to the
Code:
If
the (auto complete box) is still greyed out all the way through the deletions.

Can someone else try see if this is reproducble

1. type
Code:
If read

2. on the (auto complete box) opening displaying
Code:
Read
press the tab key to auto complete.
3. press backspace key
4. auto complete box should open up greyed out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0FJayCL3Hg&feature=youtu.be

Zebuddi. :)


Last edited by Zebuddi123 on Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray: to dupli
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:29 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Oldenburg (Germany)
Zebuddi123 wrote:
Can someone else try see if this is reproducble

Cannot confirm, it's working on my system.

_________________
I'm gone. Maybe I'll come back if GTK3 works better, and the PB-IDE is also adapted to GTK3.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:12 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Germany, Homburg (Saar)
Here you can see the first bug in my first post in action: Purebasic Autocomplete Bug

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [4.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray: to dupli
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:56 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Germany, Homburg (Saar)
Zebuddi123 wrote:

Your video is listed als private. Nobody can see it. ;)

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [5.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:33 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:30 pm
Posts: 626
Location: Nottinghamshire UK
Hope it`s sorted now FB too confusing :shock: :twisted:

Zebuddi. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [5.30b4] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:14 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:43 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Germany, Homburg (Saar)
I hope this bug will be fixed before the final comes out. Because this way it is impossible to use the IDE for programming.

_________________
Electronics, Crazy & Interesting Stuff, all that with text, image and sound? Click here!

The english grammar is freeware, you can use it freely - But it's not Open Source, i.e. you can not change it or publish it in altered way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [5.30b7] Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:16 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 13141
Location: France
Fixed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [Done] 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 10:34 am 
Offline
User
User

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:13 am
Posts: 60
Hello, the bug still exists on Debian8 Gnome and Mint cinnamon with 5.60.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [Done] 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 3:14 pm 
Offline
User
User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:47 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Munich
I can confirm the problem still exists (Kubuntu 16.04 as well as 17.04)
(Autocomplete gray bug, other things work, its not slow, nor do I get code pieces)
Example image: Image

Problem is, its a heisenbug. Sometimes it works.
Observations I made:
- it occurs more often in long codes
- it occurs significantly more often on a slow PC (low spec laptop)
- it occurs more often when I set KDEs option "focus stealing prevention" to high.
- a restart of the IDE fixes it for a random time.
And its incredibly annoying when it happens ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [Done] 5.30b7 Autocomplete opens to slow or is gray
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 11:23 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 1:20 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Amphibios 9
same here: Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon 3.2.7 64-bit

Greetings ... Peter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye