Help me defend PB "reputation"

For everything that's not in any way related to PureBasic. General chat etc...
ostapas
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Help me defend PB "reputation"

Post by ostapas »

So, I have a couple of friends, which are hardcore C++ programmers. When we are having some beer, we usually start arguing about various programming languages. And, when I mention PB, they start to grin from ear to ear at me with sarcastic smile. Their main arguments are:

1. Amateurish, esoteric language.
2. No real OOP.
3. Small community and number of libraries.
4. Foggy future of it.

Can you provide me any arguments which will "kill" them and "seduce" to use PB? I am asking this because they are really experienced bastards and I am just a hobbyist coder, mainly using PB for various cryptocurrency trading bots(so I only know some http protocol and string manipulation).
Shield
Addict
Addict

Re: Help me defend PB "reputation"

Post by Shield »

You won't be able to "kill" them with arguments that support PB and you'll have a really hard time
to convert them to using PB (though you might get them to try it out).

The following points reflect my opinion. :)

That's pretty dumb and narrow-minded of them to say, especially since they didn't give it a shot.

2. No real OOP.
True, big point there. This is exactly why I don't use PB anymore for anything else than small tools.
OOP just makes things that much easier and more maintainable. It depends on the use case, but since
C++ supports both OOP and non-OOP programming paradigms, C++ clearly wins here.

The small community is indeed a problem. While I experience the PB community to be more (beginner-) friendly than others,
there is not that much example code or library code out there compared to other languages.

4. Foggy future of it.
Meh. PB has been around for ages, I wouldn't worry too much about it (while at the same time not fully commit to it either).