CodeCaddy v2.08x

Developed or developing a new product in PureBasic? Tell the world about it.
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

CodeCaddy v2.08x

Post by blueznl »

(Latest version: see the last email in this thread.)

Yes. I've been working on this for a while now. And there have been multiple versions, but here it finally is: CodeCaddy.

Download it here: http://www.xs4all.nl/~bluez/purebasic/codecaddy.zip
Homepage: http://www.xs4all.nl/~bluez/purebasic/purebasic 29.htm#codecaddy
Introduction flash file: http://www.xs4all.nl/~bluez/datatalk/codecaddy.htm
Laughable video: http://www.youtube.com/user/blueznl#p/a/u/0/4Fm-APNHNOc

Yes. CodeCaddy comes with documentation, inside the archive there is a 'quickhelp.txt' file. Please read it if you have any questions... There is also a 'history' section in the source code which (should) show the latest changes.

What it does:

* look for any occurancies of specified code
* create numbered backups (jaPBe style with a little pizzaz) in a dedicated backup folder using .cdy and .bak files
* installs itself in the PureBasic IDE tools menu, but only if you tell it to
* synchronize two folders taking .cdy .pb .bak files in account (good for bringing your code with you)
* add build date, build number and save number constants on compilation time (like PureBuild)
* flatten multiline sections, ie. lines ending on '_'
* auto indent your code (with configurable keywords)
* search websites for keywords selected in the editor

(It's hard to explain, much easier to use.)

CodeCaddy can install itself in PureBasic 3.94 to 4.51, thus far I've not encountered any problems.
Last edited by blueznl on Tue Jul 30, 2013 11:19 pm, edited 56 times in total.
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

Here's CodeCaddy in action, followed by several ways to install it.

Image

Image

The 'lazy' way.

CodeCaddy can install itself if you want, more for the lazy people:

1. download codecaddy.zip
2. unpack, copy codecaddy.exe in your PureBasic folder
3. run it
4. use the menu option Tools / Install in IDE

The 'I wanna' know all' way.

1. download codecaddy.zip
2. unpack, copy codecaddy.exe in your PureBasic folder
3. run it
4. press the help button
5. follow the instructions

The 'I love my DOS box' way:

1. download codecaddy.zip
2. unpack, copy codecaddy.exe in your PureBasic folder
3. open a command box / dos box / shell prompt whatever
4. cd to your purebasic folder
5. execute: codecaddy find "<pb file name>" "<search phrase>"

The 'I don't trust you with my editor preferences anyway' way.

1. download codecaddy.zip
2. copy codecaddy.exe into your pb folder
3. run codecaddy.exe
4. select the menu Options / Preferences
5. go to the tab Search
6. select the top 'asterix' button (the one behind the 'Basic' section)
7. select your PB folder, or a folder where you save all your PureBasic source files (anything ending on .pb will do)
8. leave preferences with Ok
9. hit the F2 key (search)
10. enter the first letters of a procedure or variable name that you know of
11. hit Start
12. in the resulting window the top half shows all hits, the bottom half shows the related code

Of course, you can simply doubleclick the executable and fool around with it...
Last edited by blueznl on Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
thefool
Always Here
Always Here
Posts: 5881
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:58 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by thefool »

Nice
I love the new search function!

(And the backup feature makes you not mess up when editing&running from the editor, which sadly happens often hehe)

Thanks :)
Inf0Byt3
PureBasic Fanatic
PureBasic Fanatic
Posts: 2236
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:15 pm
Location: Elbonia

Post by Inf0Byt3 »

Simply genius! Thank you!
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free. (Goethe)
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

I've added a small movie for those that have no clue what this is good for. Apologies for the quality, which is pathethic, but this way I could keep the file small.

Link: http://www.xs4all.nl/~bluez/datatalk/co ... lldemo.avi
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
techjunkie
Addict
Addict
Posts: 1126
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by techjunkie »

blueznl wrote:I've added a small movie for those that have no clue what this is good for. Apologies for the quality, which is pathethic, but this way I could keep the file small.

Link: http://www.xs4all.nl/~bluez/datatalk/co ... lldemo.avi
The link doesn't work for me?!? All the above links works okay, though.
Image
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination.
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

New version v0.93x build 315 17.06.07 save 5750.

Changes:

v0.93x improved updating of list panel, no more empty lines, added non-saving find
v0.92x added keyboard shortcuts, modified response to some command line parameters
Last edited by blueznl on Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

New version v0.96x build 339 22.06.07 save 5866.

Changes:

v0.96x allows bypassing codecaddy for testing snippets, proper min / max window handling

Note: I would like to invite Vista users and Unicode users to check it. I'd like to have some feedback on these and how they impact CodeCaddy. Thanks in advance!
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

New version v0.99x build 351 08.08.07 save 5948.

Changes:

v0.99x iconic and maximized support, added codesync output to listpanel when in gui
v0.98x fixed missing detection of included files
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
mskuma
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by mskuma »

Thanks blueznl!
techjunkie wrote:
The link doesn't work for me?!? All the above links works okay, though.
I agree - movie link seems down.
mskuma
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by mskuma »

blueznl wrote: CodeCaddy can install itself if you want, more for the lazy people:

1. download codecaddy.zip
2. unpack, copy codecaddy.exe in your PureBasic folder
3. run it
4. use the menu option Tools / Install in IDE
JFYI - the quickhelp.txt file has

4. choose options / install in IDE

should be as you wrote it above (Tools / Install in IDE).
mskuma
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by mskuma »

Hi, just noticed an issue - I think it's codecaddy, not sure - anyway just wondering if any unicode people have noticed this one.. I just created some code in plain text, and it compiled ok. Then later with the same code, I switch to UTF-8 and add some string handling function and typed in some foreign chars as the string, and then recompiled & then I got an error dialog saying 'Line 1: Syntax error!' (though there is no line 1 in my code). After playing with the configure tools, if I uncheck 'codecaddy - run (auto)' I don't see the error. If I check it, the error appears.
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

mskuma wrote:Hi, just noticed an issue - I think it's codecaddy, not sure - anyway just wondering if any unicode people have noticed this one.. I just created some code in plain text, and it compiled ok. Then later with the same code, I switch to UTF-8 and add some string handling function and typed in some foreign chars as the string, and then recompiled & then I got an error dialog saying 'Line 1: Syntax error!' (though there is no line 1 in my code). After playing with the configure tools, if I uncheck 'codecaddy - run (auto)' I don't see the error. If I check it, the error appears.
Ah, that's likely my fault, I guess. I think I may know what causes it. Could you uncheck 'Options / Preferences / Pre-Processing / Add build and save constants' ?

If that fixes it, then I know what's causing it: I add version and build info to line one of the document, however I don't take the UTF8 'header' into account. Guess I'll have to do a small fix for that.

Would you happen to have some sample files for me?
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
mskuma
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by mskuma »

I did that, and it compiled so that seems like it. I'll send you a PM with a link to a test file.
User avatar
blueznl
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
Posts: 6161
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Contact:

Post by blueznl »

Yep. Checked it. Indeed there is a header in there that I have to account for, didn't do so yet :-)

I'm interested in any UTF8 files that cause problems. I'm still not entirely sure they won't contain codepoints containing zeroes, but I cannot find conclusive information on this on the net. (Most likely codepoints with zeroes are not allowed as it would break any old code, and would not be compatible with C(++)'s string structure, but still it's better to be safe then sorry.)
( PB6.00 LTS Win11 x64 Asrock AB350 Pro4 Ryzen 5 3600 32GB GTX1060 6GB)
( The path to enlightenment and the PureBasic Survival Guide right here... )
Post Reply