It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:52 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:02 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 1:11 am
Posts: 1339
i know that a similar functions exist in other basic-dialect.
a thread in the german forum gives me the idea to this code:

Code:
Macro BloatMe(_LONGS_)
! jmp SR
;DataSection
!    rept _LONGS_ counter
!     {
;!        byte#counter db counter
!       dword#counter dd counter
!     }
!SR:
;EndDataSection
EndMacro

BloatMe(100000) ;Bloat nearly 400kbyte

MessageRequester("Test","BLOATING",0)

_________________
SPAMINATOR NR.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:06 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 4:35 pm
Posts: 10117
Location: Beyond the pale...
No worries there with the way I write code - already bloated enough! :wink:

_________________
I may look like a mule, but I'm not a complete ass.

Grid Controls Package / eScript / Arctic Reports

PureCoder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:15 pm 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 6:56 pm
Posts: 767
ah, cool, now I can bloat initial releases and with each successive update claim smaller memory footprints due to further optimizations ... :lol:

_________________
cheers,
dell_jockey
________
http://blog.forex-trading-ideas.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:25 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:09 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Italy
dell_jockey wrote:
ah, cool, now I can bloat initial releases and with each successive update claim smaller memory footprints due to further optimizations ... :lol:


Great idea :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:23 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 4327
Location: Cypress TX
Nope... I may use it to do the code reduction program so I can look like a genius at work.. hmmm...

But lets face it My code is BLOAT personified! :mrgreen:

_________________
Binarily speaking... it takes 10 to Tango!!!

Image
http://www.bluemesapc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:08 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 2955
Location: New Zealand
If it's a case of appearing competitive in the eyes of a user who might have concluded that a 30Mb download must be really something special compared to 100kb download.
Bloat away! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:21 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Posts: 2757
Location: Bergen, Norway
What's the point of this? :shock:

_________________
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:48 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 11:31 am
Posts: 5954
Well, let me check my seriousness meter...


0% -- | ------------------------------------------------------ 100%

Ah, thought so.

_________________
( PB5.30 Win7 x64 Dell XPS710 nForce 5 Intel Q6600 SSD Evo 840 GFX GTS450 )
( You have two options: psychotherapy, or the PureBasic Survival Guide... )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:05 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:15 am
Posts: 894
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
blueznl wrote:
Well, let me check my seriousness meter...


0% -- | ------------------------------------------------------ 100%

Ah, thought so.

Love it! :lol:

_________________
Windows 7 & PureBasic 4.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:06 pm 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:03 pm
Posts: 3000
Location: Lincoln, UK
GeoTrail wrote:
What's the point of this? :shock:

Believe it or not, some customers will look at you funny if you supply a 100k app that fulfils their needs but will be happy when they recieve a 2.5Mb app that does the same thing. :shock:

_________________
--Kale

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:08 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:45 am
Posts: 2757
Location: Bergen, Norway
@Kale, yeah I have similar experience there. :lol:

_________________
I Stepped On A Cornflake!!! Now I'm A Cereal Killer!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:56 am 
Offline
Addict
Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:06 pm
Posts: 2077
Location: Argentina
Something very similar happends in some nitche of the furniture business.
A friend of mine make furniture and he found that when selling expensive furniture it HAS to have at least some 'decent' weight, otherwise some clients do not feel comfortable.
He had to find a way to add weight to his furniture before tring to sell it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:57 am 
Offline
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:18 am
Posts: 469
dell_jockey wrote:
ah, cool, now I can bloat initial releases and with each successive update claim smaller memory footprints due to further optimizations ... :lol:

Don't laugh; that's an EXCELLENT idea! I'm going to take it on board. It's all about the marketing, after all. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:40 am 
Offline
PureBasic Expert
PureBasic Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:03 pm
Posts: 3000
Location: Lincoln, UK
ricardo wrote:
Something very similar happends in some nitche of the furniture business.
A friend of mine make furniture and he found that when selling expensive furniture it HAS to have at least some 'decent' weight, otherwise some clients do not feel comfortable.
He had to find a way to add weight to his furniture before tring to sell it.

When i was a young lad i used to like taking things apart to see what was inside, i couldn't believe the amount of items that had lead weights inside, doing nothing other than adding extra weight to make the product seem better quality.

_________________
--Kale

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat EXE Macro, bloat your exe
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 12:52 pm 
Offline
Addict
Addict

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 2970
Location: Where ya would never look.....
Have we all gotten it wrong? I sort of thought that one of the goals for coding was to reduce bloat?

In relation to the post about the furniture; the reason the weight seems to affect sales is because people have the economic/financial implied concept that weight in certain items means solid in a sturdy and long lasting context. This might be more suitably explained by a childhood experience that a lot of people have had when mom or dad bought you clothing, especially shoes. You might have heard your parents say something regarding the durability of an item or maybe they had questions about it, they might have overlooked fashion clothing (contrary to your desires) in favor of durability and "lastability". It was a common sense determination that something would last for a while based upon its construction/material (for example, Regular Levi or Wrangler jeans are more suitable for a kid playing then fashion jeans) and thus be more suitable economically or financially because the longer an item lasted meant the less frequently it needed to be replaced or repaired. The weight of certain items such as furniture conjures up the same general "seems sturdy so it will last" concept because weight implies more material which implies for certain items better construction which implies its sturdy which implies its quality which implies its "lastability".

BTW, there is also another way to put bloat into a program without really putting bloat in to affect the memory footprint. You create an empty .txt file of the size you choose and simply include it in your program. There is code in the forum for producing empty .txt files of any size that you choose. Its more precise then guessing that 100000 = nearly 400kbyte as you can choose the exact size. Plus it doesn't affect the memory footprint as long as the .txt file is really empty becauzse there is no data in the .txt to allocate memory too.

_________________
The advantage of a 64 bit operating system over a 32 bit operating system comes down to only being twice the headache.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 


Powered by phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
subSilver+ theme by Canver Software, sponsor Sanal Modifiye